Medina Marching Band caps season with awards banquet

The student staff for the 2019-2020 Medina Mustang Band are pictured on Friday during a banquet and awards ceremony at the Ridgeway Fire Hall.

Posted 8 June 2019 at 3:31 pm

Courtesy of Medina Marching Band

MEDINA – The 49th annual Medina Mustang Band Banquet and Awards ceremony was held Friday at the Ridgeway Fire Hall. It was an evening of awards and reflection on the many accomplishments in the 2018-2019 school year.

Special guests included Superintendent Mark Kruzynski and Assistant High School Principal Joel Reed. Also present were Srgt. Lavender and PFC Oliver from the US Marines to award the “Semper Fidelis” award for musical excellence to two graduating seniors. The award for excellence in Jazz was given to Ben Zakes and excellence in wind ensemble to Kody Leno.

The Booster organization was credited for their continued dedication and commitment to the band. Outgoing officers were recognized and thanked for their help as well as the incoming officers. Mindy Kenward is still the president and Julie Granchelli the vice president.

Instructional staff were recognized: Jeanette Sheliga – Elementary Band Director; Jeff Pask and T.J. Gray – Percussion Instructors; Terry Steele – Pit Instructor; Joe Organiscak – Music Arranger; Matt Jaeger – Music & Visual Instructor; Diana Baker – Assistant Band Director & Colorguard Instructor; Becky Botsford – Assistant Band Director; Joe Guadagnino and Brian King – Percussion Instructors; Mark Rider – Visual Designer; Leslie Rider – Visual Consultant; Tiffany Organisciak – Front Ensemble instructor; Mike Heaney – Visual Consultant to the Colorguard;  Kara Brown – Colorguard Instructor.

The Harry Dinkle award was established to recognize someone who is not a Booster officer but who volunteers a great deal of personal time & effort to the program. This year’s recipients are Joe Granchelli and Adam Uderitz.

Several scholarships were awarded. The NYSFBC scholarship went to Maisie Griffin; the Mustang Band Booster Service scholarship went to Ray Paull; the Band Booster Memorial scholarship to Travis Gotts; the Steele Family Award to Alissa Blount; the Joseph C. McKain award to Jada Draper and Ben Zakes; the Alfred Hartway award to Maisie Griffin, Ray Paull and Alissa Blount.

Recognition was given to the Winterguard program. This year Medina sponsored 3 WG units.  The Pony Guard consisted of 15 students in grades 5-8; The Junior Varsity guard consisted of 14 students in grades 4-9 and Varsity guard had 13 students in grades 7-12.

Outstanding Band Member awards were given to Outstanding Rookies – T.J. Burgess, Layne Hodgins, Lillian Wilson and Biance Islam. Most Improved went to Lana Ortiz, Henry Rigerman, Gabe Mark and Aries McMurray. Most Valuable went to Kody Leno, Emma Baldwin, Ben Zakes and Kaela Grosslinger.

Director Awards were given by Mrs. Baker to Ava Chambers, by Mrs. Botsford to Haydin Woodward and by Mr. Steele to James Waters.

Perfect attendance awards were given to students for Fall, Spring and the two seasons combined.

Each of the seniors was given their medallion. Each of the outgoing student staff was given a plaque with their name on it.

The prologue was given by Margaret Klotzbach and the senior epilogue was given by Alissa Blount.

A slide show highlighting the year’s accomplishment was prepared by Joe Granchelli.

The highlight of the evening was the announcement of the 2019-2020 student staff:  Drum Major – Jada Draper; Assistant Drum Majors – Lacey Kenward, Miranda Zelazny and Margaret Klotzbach. Head of Percussion – Margaret Klotzbach; Colorguard Captain – McKenna Callard;  Colorguard Managers – Melanie Poynter, Ava Chambers and Destiny Jones; Secretary/Librarian – Emma Roush & Kaylee Lacey; Uniform Managers – Hannah Kenward and Amanda Woodruff;  Band Managers – Carter Green, Chris Woodroe, TJ Burgess, Megan Zakes and Faith Vanderwalker; Head Band Manager – Jada Draper; Front Ensemble Section – Sophia Cardone; Tuba Section – Paige Adkins; Trombone/Baritone – Miranda Zelazny; Trumpets – Lacey Kenward; Mellophone – Lily Kiebala; Saxophone – Grace Cook and Bailey Jackson; Clarinets –Trenton Crews;  Flutes – Mary Flores.

The 2019 Fall show is entitled “Walk the Path” and practice begins June 13 with Band Camp Aug. 12-16.

Return to top