Medina stickmen return veteran lineup

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 10 March 2016 at 12:00 am

Photo by Mike Wertman – Veteran members of the Medina varsity lacrosse team include, in front, Charlie Enderby, Greg Husung, Brendon Luthart and Mason Lewis. In back are Tyler Valley, Dylan Lewis, Kalvin Packer, Baylee Vercruysse and Jake Cotter.

A large contingent of nine returning regulars anchors the lineup for the Medina varsity lacrosse team which is prepping for the upcoming Section VI Class C Division campaign.

That veteran group includes seniors Greg Husung (midfield), Kalvin Packer (defense), Tyler Valley (attack/midfield), Dylan Lewis (midfield), Charlie Enderby (defense) and Baylee Vercruysse (defense) along with junior Jake Cotter (midfield) and sophomores Mason Lewis (midfield) and Brendon Luthart (attack/midfield).

Cotter led the Mustangs in scoring last spring with 53 goals while Valley tallied 32, Luthart 21 and Lewis 13.

Cotter and Valley both earned Class C Division second team All-Star honors while Dylan Lewis and Enderby both received honorable mention.

“We’ve got a lot of returnees at attack and midfield so I think w’e’ll score some goals but right now our focus is on defense,” said Coach Gordy Luthart. “The teams in this division score a lot of goals so the key to winning the division is to play solid defense and create takeaways. Our focus is to play sound fundamental defense.”

The Mustangs key loss to graduation on defense was goalie Adam Cotter. Senior Coda Kenyon, along with sophomores Cody Crane and Mason Pecoraro, are working to fill that void.

“I like our defense as we’ve got three starters back there but the goaltending is an area of concern,” said Luthart.

The Mustangs roster also includes seniors Josh Klotzbach (midfield), Trent Cotriss (defense), David Moore (defense); juniors Mike Carson (attack), Tyler Howard (attack), Coby Albone (attack), DaJohn Brown (defense) and sophomore Ian Joseph (defense/midfield).

The Mustangs have three scrimmages scheduled (March 16 at Amherst, March 17 vs. Gananda and Williamsville East and March 22 at Brockport) before opening the C Division schedule at home on March 30 against East Aurora.

Medina went 3-6 in the division and 9-9 overall last spring.

Interestingly, unlike past seasons the Class C teams will all play each other home and away for a 14 game division schedule.

March 30 – East Aurora, 5 p.m.
April 1 – at Wilson, 5 p.m.
April 4 – West Seneca West, 5 p.m.
April 5 – at Gowanda, 5:30 p.m.
April 7 – at Eden, 5 p.m.
April 11 – at Akron, 5 p.m.
April 13 – Lew-Port, 5 p.m.
April 15 – Salamanca, 5 p.m.
April 19 – Gowanda, 5 p.m.
April 21 – at Lew-Port, 5 p.m.
April 25 – Eden, 5 p.m.
April 27 – Akron, 7 p.m.
April 29 – at Salamanca, 5:30 p.m.
May 3 – at East Aurora, 5 p.m.
May 6 – at Lockport, 5 p.m.
May 10 – Wilson, 5 p.m.