Medina JV football team romps in finale

Contributed Story Posted 19 October 2017 at 11:41 am

The Medina JV football team, led by head coach Gordy Luthart, wrapped up their season with a 50-24 victory over Alden Wednesday evening to finish the season at 6-2, while going 5-0 in the class B3 division.

Emmanual Taylor powered the Mustangs offense against Alden with 4 touchdowns and 356 total offensive yards (286 rushing, 70 receiving).

Jarin Rhim completed 10 of 15 passes including a touchdown to Tyler Chinn.

Christian Drisdom and Jacob Golding each added a rushing touchdown.

Taylor, Donovan Alexander, Bobby Geiger, and Dontea Rhim each ran for a two point conversion.

Jarin Rhim finished with a solid season at quarterback, replacing starter Brian Fry after he was called up to varsity before the third game. In six games, Rhim completed 57 of 109 passes for 903 yards and 12 touchdowns.

Tyler Chinn was the team’s top receiving target, totaling 31 catches for 562 yards and 11 touchdowns. Emmanual Taylor added 25 receptions for 442 yards and 4 touchdowns.

Bobby Geiger and Taylor led the Mustangs rushing attack on the season. Geiger ran for 557 yards and Taylor 465 yards. They finished with 6 rushing touchdowns each.

The Mustangs defense was led by Geiger with 38 tackles, 5 sacks, and 5 fumble recoveries. Colby Petrie added 36, Mario Fidanza 34, Rodney Davis 29, Jacob Golding 29, and Taylor 27.

Tyler Chinn also intercepted 3 passes and recovered 3 fumbles, one of which he returned for a touchdown.

The JV Mustangs roster included sophomores Donovan Alexander, Riley Black, Mario Fidanza, Bobby Geiger, Jacob Golding, Nathan Neace, Lincoln Pace, Colby Petrie, David Wiley; freshman Mike Bitsas, Jason Cecchini, Tyler Chinn, Rodney Davis, Christian Drisdom, Carson Dusett, Matt Henning, Conner McNeil, Robert Morehouse, Austin Mosher, Matthew Nichols, Mark Reigle, Dontea Rhim, Jack Rutkowski, Mitchell Silversmith, Tasker Taylor, Avery Wilcox; eighth graders Joe Cecchini, Iverson Poole, Jarin Rhim, Emmanual Taylor; and seventh grader Chris Johnson.