Medina JV football team completes 6-2 season

Contributed Story Posted 29 October 2014 at 12:00 am

The Medina JV football team, led by head coach Gordy Luthart, wrapped up its season last Saturday with a 36-18 win over previously unbeaten Bennett, avenging an earlier meeting which Bennett won 34-6.

The Mustangs finished the season with a 6-2 record with wins over Newfane, Lake Shore, Barker/Roy-Hart, Lew-Port, Albion, and Bennett. The only other loss was a 22-21 defeat against Burgard that came on the game’s final play. The 6-2 record was the best record posted by a Medina JV team since the 2006 team which went 6-1-1.

The high powered offense averaged 34.8 points per game and was led through the air by eighth grade quarterback Izaiah Rhim. In his first JV season, Rhim threw for 636 yards and 11 touchdowns with just 3 interceptions. Rhim’s top targets included freshman Jalin Cooper who hauled in 17 balls for 263 yards and 4 touchdowns, and sophomore Eddy Schildt who made 10 catches for 234 yards and also had 4 touchdowns.

The Mustangs rolled up an average of 234 yards per game on the ground as the rushing attack was led by sophomore Jake Cotter. Cotter totaled 802 yards and 9 touchdowns while running for over 11 yards per carry. Schildt added 346 yards, 5 touchdowns and an average of over 10 yards per carry, while Rhim contributed 177 yards and 6 touchdowns on the ground.

Medina was also strong on defense, allowing 17.5 points per contest. Schildt and sophomore Powell Stephens led the way with 41 tackles a piece, followed by freshman Cody Crane and sophomore Ryan Kruger contributing 39 and 32 tackles, respectively.

Rounding out the JV Mustangs roster were: sophomores Frank Carrasquillo, Michael Carson, Devin Cleveland, Nolan Donald, Zach Petry, Emmanuel Sones; freshman Thomas Culmo, Mike Eckerd, Owen Frasier, Joe Gates, Ogilber Gonzalez, Trenton Jones, Ian Joseph, Mason Lewis, Brendan Luthart, Mason Pecoraro, Elijah Sones; and eighth graders Damon Bloom, Ronnie Koonce, Vincent Montague, Johnny Salone, Daemon Shatara.