Medina inducts 39 into National Honor Society

Posted 26 April 2017 at 11:31 am

Press Release, Medina Central School

MEDINA – Thirty-nine students were inducted into the Arista Chapter of the National Honor Society on April 5 at Medina High School.

The current 33 members, under the direction of Bronwyn Green and Darnell Gray, placed cords around the necks of the new members in a ceremony that honored an almost 100-year tradition at the school district.

There was also a candle ceremony which highlighted the four tenets of the National Honor Society: Scholarship, Leadership, Character and Service.

The tradition started in the 1920’s when an exclusive scholarship club at the High School invited students to join based on their academic grades and recommendations. In 1964, the school district started its own National Honor Society, but decided to uphold the tradition of the existing club.

This year’s inductees include:  Alexis Adams, Alexander Allis, Jacob Bensley, Alyssa Beyer, Kaya Bloom, Alden Cayea, Hannah Duhow, Cheyenne Farewell, Grace Flores, Owen Frasier, Andrew Fuller, Carson Gates, Shelby Green, Christian Hahn, Jack Hill, Alexis Hinman, Jacob Houseman, Ian Joseph, Brigid Keller, Madison Kenward, Tobias Kiebala, Madeline Kraus, Makenna Lederhouse, Ethan Leonard, Hannah Mahnke, Alexis Maines, Grace Masse, Renee Masters, Brianna Meyers, Amanda Nottingham, Noah Pencille, Jorge Phillips, Tiffany Poynter, Alisha Scroger, Leah Sheelar, Elijah Sones, Hannah Sones, Dylan Sturtevant and Luke Wilson.

Medina Central School Superintendent Mark Kruzynski, High School Principal Michael Cavanagh and Vice Principal Kevin Lasky were in attendance with many proud family members. The guest speaker was Mary Lou Tuohey, owner of Cas-Nic Cookies in Medina.

Return to top