Medina inducts 34 into Honor Society

Posted 8 April 2014 at 12:00 am

Photo courtesy of Chris Busch – Newly inducted 2014 members of the Medina High School Arista Chapter of the National Honor Society stand with outgoing senior members Thursday evening following induction ceremonies in the Frederick E. Snyder Auditorium at MHS. The society welcomed 34 new members.

By Chris Busch

MEDINA – The Medina High School Arista Chapter of the National Honor Society held their annual ceremony for the induction of new members Thursday evening.  The ceremony was held in Frederick E. Snyder Auditorium at MHS.  In all, 34 new members were inducted in front of proud family members, teachers and administration.

A keynote address was delivered by James Simon, Associate Dean of Genesee Community College for the Medina and Albion campus centers. The new Honor Society members were introduced by MHS Administrators Mark Kruzynski and Michael Cavanagh.

In the 1920’s, the Arista Club was an exclusive scholarship club at Medina High School. Members were selected based on grade point average, and formal recommendations. When Medina decided to chart its own chapter of the National Honor Society in 1964, Medina administration decided to honor the spirit and traditions of the existing club, and the Arista Chapter of the National Honor Society was born.

2014 students invited for membership include Bailey Allen, Emma Ambrose, Briana Bellan, Bryce Bellan, Madeline Bilicki, Anna Blount, Nicole Blount, Brian Bogan, Julia Brien, Austin Brown, Samuel Busch, Victoria Carter, Matthew Cochrane, Laura Dunham, Aaron Feltz, Jason Hellwig, Adam Hoot, Christopher Keller, Jenna Kickbush, Chantelle Kidney, Rubi Luna Mondragon, Alexandra Markle, Amanda McCauley, Krista Nellist, Alexander O’Keefe, Austin Owens, Maxwell Owens, Nathan Pace, Jacob Roeseler, Brittany Schultz, Samuel Simms, Regan Stacey, Tessa White and Addison Zavitz.

Medina High School National Honor Society faculty advisor is Mrs. Karen Jones.