Medina inducts 32 students into National Honor Society

Photo courtesy of Medina Central School: These students take the oath and are inducted in the National Honor Society on April 27.

Posted 2 May 2022 at 12:20 pm

Press Release, Medina Central School

MEDINA – There were 32 Medina students inducted into the Arista Chapter of the National Honor Society last week.

The Arista Chapter of the National Honor Society was formed in the 1920s as an exclusive club at the high school where members were selected based upon grade point average and formal recommendations.

In 1964 Medina decided to charter their own National Honor Society and the district’s administration decided to honor the spirit of the existing club and named it the Arista Chapter of the National Honor Society.

The keynote speaker during the ceremony was 2014 Medina graduate Ben McPherson, who is the President of the Medina Rotary Club, sits on the Finance Committee for MAP (Medina Area Partnership) and is a financial advisor for Edward Jones.

After a candle-lighting ceremony with the current National Honor Society officers, new members were inducted including: Tatyanna Baity, Marissa Brigham, Bailey Clare, Bryson Costitch, Ella Dahlhaus, Dana Faith DeVera, Paige Dix, Kennedy Eick, Gabriella Flores-Medina, Lydia Fox, Brooklyn Garrow, Abigail Goodrich, Rachel Hill, Seagan Majchrzak, Haley Marciniak, Gabriel Mark, Brooke Moden, Jackson Moreland, Mason Moreland, Elizabeth Parker, Aidan Paul, Henry Rigerman, William Roush, Hilda Santiago Bautista, Lydia Sharlau, Sara Swart, David Vanderwalker, Jeremy Waters, Hailey Wilkins, Lillian Wilson, Kayleigh Wright and Tyrell Wright.

National Honor Society advisors Samantha Rennie and Alissa Dunham say it was a wonderful ceremony and they are very proud of all the new members.