Medina HS senior wins award in Distinguished Young Women

Staff Reports Posted 24 January 2015 at 12:00 am

Provided photos – Regan Stacey of Medina competed in the Distinguished Young Women of New York on Jan. 10 in Albany.

ALBANY – A Medina High School senior competed in the 2015 Distinguished Young Woman of New York and won the award for “Be Your Best Self.”

Regan Stacey, daughter of Trisha and David Stacey, competed in the Distinguished Young Women competition, which was formerly known as Junior Miss.

Heather Dorler of Stockton in Chautauqua County was the overall winner of the state-wide competition on Jan. 10 at Cohoes High School Auditorium in Albany.

Stacey and Dorler were among 11 high school senior girls from New York who competed to represent the state as the Distinguished Young Woman of New York for 2015. Participants were evaluated in the categories of Scholastics (20 percent), Interview (25 percent), Fitness (15 percent), Self-Expression (15 percent) and Talent (25 percent).

The scholarship program awarded $5,000 in scholarships, with Stacey earning $200 for the “Be Your Best Self” award.

Participants in the Distinguished Young Women of New York include, front row, from left: Sarah Pierson – Southampton; Heather Ryan – Crown Point; Sarah Burbank – Moriah; Regan Stacey – Medina; and Heather Dorler – Stockton. Back Row: Christine Schmidt – Elmira; Jonni Mills – Red Hook; Lillith Ida – Ticonderoga; Keneally Phelan – Harriman; Hillit Avnon-Klein – Queens Village; and Rachel Lavin – Whitehall.

The 58th National Finals will take place on June 25-27 in Mobile, Ala. Dorler will travel to Mobile along with 49 other state representatives to participate in personal development activities and community service projects before competing for the opportunity to become the Distinguished Young Woman of America for 2015 and for additional cash scholarships.

Abigail Feldman of Lyndonville was the NY state winner in 2014.

The New York State program is now accepting applications for any high school junior girl, with graduation date for 2016. For more information, visit