Medina HS recognizes Honor Society members from 2020 and 2021

Posted 12 May 2021 at 10:46 am

Covid shutdown cancelled last year’s induction ceremony

Press Release, Medina Central School

Provided photos: Seniors Evie Schultz, Ianah Drisdom and Corey Saj take the National Honor Society Pledge.

MEDINA – A distinguished group of Medina juniors and seniors were celebrated in two ceremonies at High School as they were inducted into the Arista Chapter of the National Honor Society.

In order to become a member, students must have a cumulative average of 90% or higher. They must also fill out an application and submit an essay to be reviewed by the faculty council made up of high school teachers.

Because of the school shutdown last year due to the Covid-19 pandemic, Principal Michael Cavanagh and the planning committee felt it was important to honor this year’s and last year’s honorees together.

“It is truly an achievement to make the National Honor Society,” said Mark Kruzynski, district superintendent. “I am especially proud of this group, because of all of the adversity that they have had to overcome because of the pandemic.  These students excelled whether learning remotely or in school, and they adapted to every situation.  Congratulations to all of our National Honor Society inductees.”

Two ceremonies were held on May 5, coordinated by National Honor Society advisors, Alissa Dunham and Samantha Rennie, with guest speaker, Jackie Gardner.  A community member who has been a leader in many organizations like United Way and GCASA, Gardner also has been involved in the American Bankers Association for 33 years.

Gardner has devoted her time to the Orleans County United Way for eight years and served and president and vice president. She also helped to co-chair the United Way Allocations Committee and is currently part of Leadership Orleans. In addressing the students, she talked to them about the four pillars of National Honor Society: scholarship, leadership, service and character and how to incorporate them into their lives now and in their future. She encouraged students to get involved in their community and wherever they go in the future. The school district would like to thank her for impact on their community.

Ianah Drisdom, a senior, is congratulated by her mother.

The ceremonies included excerpts from essays that students submitted with their applications for the National Honor Society.  The topics for these essays were: an adult that made the greatest impact on them, being an A student or the four pillars of the National Honor Society.  The ceremony was concluded with a candle lighting ceremony, the receiving of their gold cords from Assistant Principal Joel Reed and the reciting of the National Honor Society Pledge.

The new inductees include:

Seniors: James Bieliski, Arella Biesinger, Abigail Blount (Vice President), Tessa Boyce, Brooklyn Brown, Sophia Cardone (President), Emma Carson, Alwyn Cayea, Morgan Crossett, Ianah Drisdom, Carter Green, Devin Griffin, Alexis Hare, Makayla Heideman, Corinne Hill, Kylie Hinman (Social Chair), Bailey Jackson, Hannah Kenward (Treasurer), Carina Kingsbury, Emma Leonard, Madison Meyers, Abigail Neuman, Jaden Pencille, August Pietrafesa, Emma Roush, Jack Rutkowski (Secretary), Corey Saj, Evie Schultz, Emma Schwarzott, Sarah Sones, Madison Stewart, Ryan Taylor, Faith Ann Vanderwalker, Jacob Velesko, Sydney Watts and Amanda Woodruff.

Alexis Jones (Social Chair) and Micaela Erway (Vice President), graduates from the Class of 2020, also participated in the ceremony for the seniors.

Juniors: Dakota Alexander, Andrea Benz, David Berry, Suvi Biesinger, Thomas Burgess Jr., Lily Carpenter, Joseph Cecchini, Zachary Fike, Benjamin Griffin, Samuel Kingsbury, Kaylee Lacey, Drayven Oakes, Kristi Oliver, Xander Payne, Jaxon Phillips, Victoria Potter, Karina Rotoli, Charisma Roy, Willy Sanchez Cabrera, Aleena Silker, Willow Smith, Alexandria Strong, Kristen Trillizio, Emma Wagner, Hayden Woodroe and Megan Zakes.