Medina has large group of C North All-Stars

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 8 June 2021 at 10:34 am

Contributed Photo – Medina’s first team C North Division All-Stars include, from left, Xander Payne, Brian Fry, Robert Morehouse, Joe Cecchini and Chris Johnson. Missing from the photo is Tyler Chinn.

Champion Medina has placed six players on the first team and eight on the second team of the C North Division All-Star football squad.

Senior Brian Fry (RB/DB), who was named C North Offensive Player of the Year, heads Medina’s first team contingent which also includes seniors Tyler Chinn (WR/DB) and Robert Morehouse (OL/DL); juniors Xander Payne (QB) and Joe Cecchini (DL/TE) and sophomore Chris Johnson (DL/OL).

Fry led the Mustangs in both rushing with 700 yards and 10 touchdowns and receiving with 19 catches for 324 yards and 3 TDs. On defense he made 34 tackles, had 4 interceptions and 2 fumble recoveries.

Payne passed for 1,054 yards and 15 touchdowns.

Chinn caught 12 passes for 318 yards and 6 touchdowns.

Cecchini registered 7 sacks and had 15 tackles on defense and caught 13 passes for 143 yards and 2 touchdowns on offense.

Johnson made 21 tackles and had 2 fumble recoveries and Morehouse had 2 tackles for losses.

Medina’s second team honorees include seniors Corey Saj (RB), Mitchell Silversmith (OL) and Dontae Rhim (DB); juniors Cole Seefeldt (K), Jarin Rhim (DE) and Iverson Poole (DB) along with sophomores Dominic Larabee (DL) and Noah Skinner (LB).

The Mustangs also had a trio of Honorable Mention selections including Zach Oliver, Colvin Stalker and Hayden Woodroe, all juniors.

The remainder of the first team selections, listed by school, are as follows:

Akron – Adam Mietz (QB, Sr.), Aidan Smith (RB, Jr.), Mitchell Holtz (WR, Sr.), David Kalinowski (LB, Sr.). Kalinowski was named C North Defensive Player of the Year.

Newfane – Michael Carmer (OL, Sr.), Andy Lucinski (LB, Sr.).

Wilson – Ben Mahar (OL, Sr.), Anthony Dispenza (DL, Sr.), Chris Dispenza (LB, Jr.), Luke Atlas (DB, Jr.), Jared Jaques (DB, Sr.).

Cleveland Hill – Nate Cummings (RB, Sr.), Jamari Coleman (OL, So.), Aiden Schoenfelder (DL, Sr.), Justin Rojeck (P, Jr.)

Tonawanda – Dylan Carey (WR, Sr.), R.J. Wollcott (OL, Sr.), Hunter Hollack (K, Sr.), Josh Fisher (LB, Sr.)