Medina has 7 first team C North All Stars

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 21 November 2022 at 9:47 am

Photos by Cheryl Wertman – Medina’s first team C North Division All-Stars include, on offense, from left, Roosevelt Mitchell, Noah Skinner and Cole Callard.

Champion Medina has placed seven players on the first team of the C North Division All-Star football squad.

Senior running back Noah Skinner, who was named C North Player of the Year, and senior lineman Chris Johnson, who was named Defensive Player of the Year, head Medina’s contingent.

The Mustangs first team honorees also include senior defensive backs Cayden Lilleby and Aiden Pitts, senior defensive end Ollie Wilson, junior offensive lineman Roosevelt Mitchell and sophomore placekicker Cole Callard.

Medina’s first team defensive All-Stars include, from left, Chris Johnson, Cayden Lilleby, Aiden Pitts and Ollie Wilson.

Skinner rushed for 1,470 yards and 27 touchdowns and caught 8 passes for 160 yards and a TD. On defense, he had a team leading 61 tackles, including 47 solo, and 2 sacks.

Johnson had 46 tackles, including 31 solo, and 1 sack; Mitchell 36 tackles, including 26 solo and 1 sack and Wilson 29 tackles, including 16 solo, and 4 sacks.

The Mustangs starting quarterback, Pitts completed 54 of 90 passes for 882 yards and 8 touchdowns and rushed for 410 yards and 4 TDs. On defemse, he had 3 interceptions and a fumble recovery.

Lilleby rushed for 304 yards and 5 touchdowns and caught 13 passes for 175 yards and 3 TDs. Defensively, he had 30 tackles, including 22 solo.

Callard made good on 34 of 37 extra point attempts and also handled the Mustangs punting and kickoff duties.

Medina also had five second team honorees including senior tight end Josh Wilson, junior offensive lineman Xavier King, junior running back Amari Soule and junior defensive backs Noah Cudzilo and Kaedon Cleveland.

The Mustangs also had junior lineman Sawyer Kingsbury and junior defensive back Logan Gray receive Honorable Mention.

Akron senior quarterback Chris Bergman was named C North Offensive Player of the Year. He passed for 1,753 yards and 15 touchdowns and rushed for 999 yards and 19 TDs. His favorite receiver, senior Donny Kreher, who also earned first team honors, caught 49 passes for 1,026 yards and 11 TDs.

Akron’s first team honors also included senior offensive lineman Jack Pazderski and senior defensive end Zander Borten.

Newfane’s first team honorees included quarterback Nate Snow, wide receiver Ben Dickenson and offensive lineman Jonny Beiter, all juniors. Snow passed for 1,172 yards and 11 touchdowns and rushed for 390 yards and 6 TDs. Dickenson caught 51 passes for 694 yards and 5 TDs.