Medina golfers complete undefeated N-O title season with All-League tourney victory

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 3 October 2017 at 9:10 pm

Contributed Photos – Medina Coach PJ Bell and his starting six golfers celebrate today’s All-League Tournament win which locked up the Niagara-Orleans League golf title for the Mustangs. They include Toby Kiebala, Trevor Luthart, Jake Bensley, Andrew Fuller, Aidan Paul and Ian Wagner.

Capping off a perfect title season, the Medina High golf team captured top honors at the annual All-League Tournament held today at Willowbrook to complete an undefeated Niagara-Orleans championship campaign.

Individual champion Ian Wagner of Medina is flanked here by runner-up Nick Penna from Albion, left,and Nate Fox from Wilson.

Medina, which went 12-0 during the regular season, took the tourney title with a total of 447 points.

“Everybody really improved this season and it was a full team effort,” said Medina Coach PJ Bell of the Mustangs first N-O championship season since 2007.

Wilson finished in the runner-up spot in the tourney with 466 points followed by Albion 479, Akron 494, Roy-Hart 558, Newfane 563 and Barker 574.

Medina finishes the N-O season with a total of 30 points, Albion 21.5, Wilson 21, Akron 17.5, Roy-Hart 9, Newfane 4 and Barker 2.

Medina’s Ian Wagner successfully defended his individual title with a round of 80.

Albion’s Nick Penna finished second with an 81 and Wilson’s Nate Fox third with an 82.

Wilson’s Patrick Seeley took fourth with an 87 while four golfers finished tied at 89 including Trevor Luthart and Aidan Paul from Medina, Murphy Lang from Roy-Hart and Nick Seider from Wilson.

Newfane’s Paige Emborsky won the girl’s competition with a 91.