Medina Committee on Police Reform taking public comments on Nov. 18

Staff Reports Posted 5 November 2020 at 8:11 am

Residents urged to take surveys and participate in the process

MEDINA – A committee on police reform and reinvention welcomes public comments during a Nov. 18 meeting from 7 to 8:30 p.m. at Medina Theatre, 603 Main St.

The Medina Committee on Police Reform and Reinvention Collaborative has been actively engaged with reviewing current Medina Police Department policies and procedures, while also reviewing new additions and modifications for consideration, said committee member Scott Robinson.

Following the public comment received on September 23, the committee launched an email address and survey to increase participation in the process.

Click here for a link to the survey in English and click here for the survey in Spanish.

Through the remainder of 2020, the committee will be reviewing public comments, policy and procedure recommendations, and additional recommendations being offered by stakeholders from the community and committee.

On June 12, Governor Andrew Cuomo initiated an executive order entitled the New York State Police Reform and Reinvention Collaborative. The core objective was that each local government with a police department needed to review the policies, procedures, and strategies of the police department.

To achieve this, each head of government must work with the leader of the police department to compile a group of community stakeholders who will review these activities. In medina’s case, Mayor Mike Sidari and Police Chief Chad Kenward worked to form a committee.

The committee includes faith-based leaders, business owners, the district attorney, public defender, a representative of the public schools, and others.

Consistent with the Governor Cuomo’s Executive Order, after receiving community input, a plan will be submitted for acceptance to the Medina Village Board and provided to the state by April 1. The submission will seek to include the comments and suggestions from committee members, community members, and additional stakeholders.

Return to top