Medina boys down Roy-Hart to claim a share of their first N-O swim championship

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 22 January 2022 at 6:12 pm

Photos by Cheryl Wertman – Medina’s Michael Marker heads toward a win in the 100 Butterfly during the host Seahorses key victory over visiting Roy-Hart this afternoon to gain a share of the Niagara-Orleans League boys swim title for the first time.

Making school history, Medina captured a share of its first ever Niagara-Orleans League boys swim championship by scoring a 94-76 home pool win over defending champion Roy-Hart this afternoon.

In avenging an earlier season 89-81 loss at Middleport, Medina finishes in a tie with Roy-Hart for the N-O title at 9-1.

Isaac Pace was an individual event double winner for Medina as he broke his own school record with a winning time of 1:01.02 in the 100 Breaststroke and also captured the 200 Freestyle.

Medina’s Isaac Pace broke his own school record with this win in the 100 Breaststroke.

The Seahorses also had Michael Marker win the 100 Butterfly and Ben Griffin the 100 Freestyle.

Pace, Marker and Griffin also teamed up with Xander Payne to win the meet opening 200 Medley Relay. Pace, Griffin and Payne later combined with Jaxon Phillips to win the meet closing 400 Free Relay.

Sean Labiak was a double winner for Roy-Hart in the 200 Individual Medley and 500 Free.

The Channel Cats also had Andrew Ossont win the 50 Free and Zach Livergood the 100 Backstroke.

Ossont also teamed up with Jacob Hagen, Charles Rickard and Jay Heideman to win the 200 Free Relay.

Roy-Hart did get a split on the day by defeating Medina 110-49 in the girls’ meet.

Mandy Hill doubled in the Butterfly and Breaststroke for Roy-Hart which also had Abigail Glyshaw take the 200 Free, Sophia Santella the IM, Julia Miles the 500 Free and Molly Russell the Backstroke.

Hill, Russell, White, Miles and Brooke Livergood were also each on two winning relays.

Maddy Satkowski was a double winner for Medina in the 50 Free and 100 Free.

Newfane sweeps Albion
Newfane capped off the regular season by sweeping Albion taking the boys’ meet 88-74 and the girls’ 102-62
The Newfane boys were led by a trio of individual event double winners including Elijah Thompson (100 Free, Backstroke), Ethan Niver (IM. Butterfly) and Noah Kneeland (500 Free, Breaststroke).

Albion’s Finn McCue won the 50 Free.

The Newfane girls were led by double winners Adoree Naylor (50 Free, 10 Free) and Bridget Martin (200 Free, 500 Free).

Albion’s Willow Gaines took the Breaststroke.

Akron girls lock up title

Putting a lock on outright possession of a second straight N-O title the Akron girls downed Barker 95-49 to finish the season at 9-1.

Mayah Harris doubled in the IM and Breaststroke and Kaila Szczypielski in the 50 Free and Butterfly to lead the TigerSharks.

The Akron boys completed the sweep by topping Barker 111-35 to finish the season at 5-5.

Dawson Stone won both the IM and Backstroke and Aiden Polkowski the 200 Free and 500 Free for Akron while Ryan Santarsiero doubled in the 50 Free and Breaststroke for Barker.

Final N-O Standings
Boys – Medina 9-1, Roy-Hart 9-1, Akron 5-5, Newfane 5-5, Albion 2-8, Barker 0-10
Girls – Akron 9-1, Newfane 8-2, Roy-Hart 7-3, Albion 4-6, Barker 1-9, Medina 1-9