Medina Blue wins Minor Division playoff title

Contributed Story Posted 29 June 2022 at 9:19 am

Contributed Photo – Celebrating their title win are Medina Blue players and coaches including Assistant coach John Buondonno, Jack Buondonno, Bryson Heiligenthaler, Assistant coach Jeremy Bensley, Kellan Bensley, Wyatt Szatkowski, Anthony Stachewicz, Patrick Grollmes, Luke Hungerford, Emma Lilleby, Head coach Mike Gray, and Sam Gray. Missing from photo is Major Harris.

Medina Blue edged past Lyndonville Black 6-5 in extra innings in the Minor Division baseball championship game Tuesday evening,

Medina Blue, sponsored by Woodroe Realty, jumped out to a 3-0 lead in the first inning sparked by a 2-run homerun off the bat of Sam Gray and an RBI double by Luke Hungerford scoring Patrick Grollmes.

Lyndonville took the lead in the top of the 6th inning by scoring 4 runs. In the bottom of the 6th, Medina tied the game with a triple from Bryson Heiligenthaler, scoring Hungerford and sending the game into extra innings.

Lyndonville once again took a 1 run lead in the top of the 7th inning. However, in the bottom of the 7th, Medina got 5 hits off the bats of Gray, Wyatt Szatkowski, Kellan Bensley, Anthony Stachewicz, and Grollmes to push across 2 runs to win the championship game.

Overall, Medina Blue totaled 16 hits including 4 each by Gray and Grollmes. Emma Lilleby and Hungerford had 2 hits a piece. Defensively, Jack Buondonno and Szatkowski made great plays.

Medina Blue Coach Mike Gray thanked his players, assistant coaches, players’ families, and all of the other Minors Division teams for a great season!