Medina Band honors students and staff, announces leaders for 2016-17

Posted 14 June 2016 at 12:00 am

Provided photo – The 2016-2017 student staff for the Medina Mustang Band include: Drum Major – Madison Holland; Assistant Drum Majors – Kyla Leno, Jadiel Flores Medina; Flute Section Leader –  Sarah Granchelli; Clarinet – Brianna Meyers; Saxophone – Alyssa Beyer & Brigid Keller; Mellos – Kristian Snyder; Trumpets – Abigail Griffin; Trombones – William Bellan; Tuba – JP Pietrafesa; Front Ensemble – Nicole Waild; Head Band Manager – Victoria Schicker; Band Managers – Kody Leno, Toby Kiebala, Ray Paull, Ben Zakes; Attendance Officer – Emma Baldwin; Uniform Manager – Devin Hogan & Emily Green; Secretary/Librarian – Shelby Green & Madison Kenward; Colorguard Captain – Alexis Neuman; Assistant CG; Captain – LeAnn Schneider; Colorguard Managers – Kaela Grosslinger, Shianne Sullinger, Mikayla Soha; and Head of Percussion – Jacob Houseman.

Press Release, Medina Marching Band

RIDGEWAY – The 45th annual Medina Mustang Band Banquet & Awards Ceremony was held Saturday at the Ridgeway Fire Hall. It was an evening of awards and reflection on the many accomplishments in the 2015-2016 year.

Special guests included Michael Cavanagh, the High School Principal and Wendi Pencille, President of the Board of Education. Terry Steele gave the invocation and special thanks went out to Trisha Laszewski for chairing the Banquet Committee.

The Booster organization was credited for their continued dedication and commitment to the band program. Outgoing officers were recognized and thanked for their help as well as the incoming officers. The “Harry Dinkle Award” was established to recognize someone who is not a Booster Officer but who volunteers a great deal of personal time and effort to the program. This year’s recipient was Frank Laszewski.

Instructional Staff were recognized: Drill & Marching – Jeanette Sheliga; Percussion- Jeff Pask & TJ Gray; Pit Instructor – Terry Steele; Colorguard Design & Instructors – Vinnie Monacelli & Kristen Costa; Assistant Band Director & Colorguard Instructor – Diana Baker; Assistant Band Director – Becky Botsford; Music Arrangers – Jerry Kelsey & Joe Organisciak; Percussion Instructors – Joe Guadagnino & Brian King.

The New York State Field Band Conference Scholarship was awarded to Amanda Lunden. The Mustang Band Service Scholarship was given to Andrea Toussaint. The Mustang Band Booster Memorial Scholarship was given to Alex Peters.

The Steele Family Award was established in January 2016 by Jonathan Seiler (Mrs. Steele’s brother). This award is given to a Senior who has given their best efforts for the betterment of the program throughout their years of participation. This year’s award was given to Andrea Toussaint.

The Joseph C. McKain Award is given to a junior and a senior to recognize their dedication and commitment to the Medina Mustang Band. This year’s recipients are William Bellan (junior) and Megan Furness (senior).

The Alfred Hartway Drum Major Award was started in 1968 in honor of a man who was a bus driver and always involved with the band. This year’s recipients are Amanda Lunden, Andrea Toussaint and Tristan Sanders and their names will be engraved on the plaque that hangs in the band room.

The New York State School Music Association Solo Festival was held in April in Penfield, and it was the third year that Medina participated. The elementary school sent 22 students, and there were 32 from the middle school and 35 from the high school. Overall they achieved scores ranging from Good, Outstanding, Excellent, A and A+.

Outstanding Band Members Awards were given in three categories: Outstanding Rookie went to Lacey Kenward, Emma Leonard, Jimmy Bieliski and McKenna Callard. Most Improved went to Chris Woodroe, Emory Seefeldt, Noah Pencille and Haley Hurt. Most Valuable went to Abby Griffin, Madison Holland, Tristan Sanders and Brittanie Goodin.

Director Awards given by Mr. Steele to Tyler Soha and Meghan Allen; given by Mrs. Botsford to Mark Barcena; given by Mrs. Baker to Grace Fuller.

Attendance Awards are given to students who have perfect attendance in fall, spring and both. Service Awards are given to students who had between 6 to 12 seasons of participation in the program. Graduating Seniors are given their medallions.

The Junior Prologue was given by Kristen Snyder and the Senior Epilogue by Amanda Lunden. A slide show of the years events was prepared by Joe Granchelli and the assistance of Mike Dreyfus, Greg Nellist and many parents who submitted pictures.

While this school year is coming to a close and the fall competitive season doesn’t begin until September, the band will hold its first rehearsal June 22 from 6:30 to 8:30 pm.