Medina and Newfane duos head annual N-O All-League boys basketball team

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 4 April 2021 at 9:24 am

Photos by Cheryl Wertman – Medina’s first team Niagara-Orleans All-League honorees Tyler Chinn, left, and Brian Fry.

Champion Medina and runner-up Newfane have both placed two players on the first team of the annual Niagara-Orleans All-League boys basketball squad.

Medina, which captured the N-O title with an 11-1 record, is represented by the senior duo of Tyler Chinn and Brian Fry.

Newfane, which finished a game off the pace at 10-2, has placed seniors Jeremy Foltz and Sam Capen.

Akron senior Adam Mietz, who is the lone repeat selection, rounds out the first team.

Chinn, who has been named N-O Player of the Year, scored 267 points on the season for a 17.8 average. He also had 81 assists, 75 rebounds and 71 steals.

Fry, who led Medina in rebounds with 125, scored 205 points for a 13.6 average. He also had 63 assists and 44 steals.

Akron’s Adam Mietz

Foltz scored 197 points (13.1 ave.) and had 68 assists, 66 rebounds and 40 steals while Capen had 146 points (11.2 ave.), 94 rebounds and 52 assists.

Mietz scored 187 points (11.6 ave.) and also had 82 rebounds, 60 assists and 42 steals.

The second team includes Albion senior Bailey Blanchard, Roy-Hart senior Rhett Goodwin and junior Aiden Petrie, Akron senior Jake Mazza and Wilson senior Mike Miller.

Blanchard led Albion in both scoring with 212 points (16.3 ave.) and rebounding with 109.

Petrie had 232 points (15.4 ave.) and 130 rebounds, Goodwin 201 points (13.4 ave.) and 65 rebounds, Mazza 155 points (9.6 ave.) and 151 rebounds and Miller 176 points (13.5 ave.)

Medina also had juniors Joe Cecchini and Jarin Rhim earn Honorable Mention.

Albion had a quartet of Honorable Mention selections including seniors Damion Lattimer, Chris Shabazz, Christian Doty and junior Jahmeek Riley.

Roy-Hart is represented on the Honorable Mention list by seniors Jon Gillings and Tom Ragonese and junior Gavyn Boyle.

Rounding out the Honorable Mention selections are Akron seniors Mitchell Holtz and David Kalinowski, Barker seniors Joey Brandt and Shane Gerhardt and sophomore Brad Cantrell, Newfane seniors Zach Snow, Michael Carmer and Tyler Oudetter and Wilson seniors Ben Lyman and Jared Jaques.

Newfane’s first team honorees Jeremy Foltz, left, and Sam Capen.