Find us on Facebook

Medina 2 bests Medina 1 for indoor soccer playoff title

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 13 May 2014 at 12:00 am

Continuing to trade championship years, Medina 2 downed rival Medina 1 14-2 over the weekend to claim the Kenan Indoor Soccer League Senior Division playoff title.

Medina 1 had captured the title last year while Medina 2 claimed the championship in 2012.

Brian Anderson scored six goals to spearhead the Medina 2 attack.

Colin Dunn added three goals and Aaron Feltz two as Tyler Ames, Zach Laird and Max Owens each chipped in with one for the winners.

Brennen O’Connor scored both goals for the short handed Medina 1 squad.

Medina 2 advanced to the title contest by nipping Zimmi’s Auto Service 6-5 in double overtime in the semifinals.

Anderson netted four goals, including the game winner, for Medina 2 which also got goals from Dunn and Owens.

In the other semifinal, Medina 1 blanked Citizens Bank 4-0.

Barry Rogenmoser scored two goals for Medina 1 as Ian Smith and Katie O’Connor each netted one.

In the Junior Division, Medina lost 8-3 in the semifinals to Zimmi’s Auto Service.

Elian Gonzalez, Trevor Hare and Sherri Kowal each scored a goal for Medina.