Medina tops Akron to claim N-O title outright

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 12 February 2019 at 8:31 pm

Photos by Cheryl Wertman – The Medina duo of Izaiah Rhim and Brian Fry stop a shot attempt by Akron’s Jake Mazza during the Mustang win over the visiting Tigers this evening.

Locking up outright possession of a school record fourth straight Niagara-Orleans League championship, Medina used a big third period scoring burst to key a 64-38 victory over visiting Akron this evening.

The victory boosts Medina’s N-O record to 11-0 (16-3 overall) heading into Thursday’s league finale at Wilson.

Trailing 23-22 at the outset of the third period, Medina put together a decisive 15-0 scoring burst to regain the lead for good.

Three layups and a pair of free throws by Nate Sherman highlighted that uprising which also included a three and a layup by Brian Fry and a layup by Tyler Chinn for a commanding 37-23 lead.

Medina’s Nate Sherman puts up a shot over Akron defender Aiden Smith.

The Mustangs maintained an 11 point, 41-30, lead at the three-quarter mark.

Akron did cut the deficit to nine, 44-35, early in the final period but Medina answered with a clutch 14-0 run to put a lock on the victory.

Fry had a three and a layup, Sherman a jumper and a layup, Chinn a layup and Izaiah Rhim a layup to vault the Mustangs out to a 23 point, 58-35, advantage with two minutes to go.

Medina jumped out to a 15-8 first period lead as Izaiah Rhim had a three, a layup and a jumper and Vincent Montague a three and  jumper.

The Mustangs maintained a seven point, 20-13, lead midway through the second period but Akron closed the stanza with n 8-2 run, including a three and a two by Jake Siska, to cut the deficit to one, 22-21 at the half.

The Tigers then took what proved to be a brief 23-22 lead at the outset of the second half on a layup by Siska but the Mustangs answered back with a decisive 15-0 run to regain control.

Sherman finished with a game high 21 to lead the Mustangs as Chinn had 12, Fry 11, Izaiah Rhim 9, Montague 7 and Joe Cecchini and Jarin Rhim 2 each.

Adam Mietz led Akron with 13 as Siska had 7, Jake Mazza ad David Kalinowski 5, Brandon Orr and Aiden Smith 3 and Gage Willis 2.

Akron finishes the N-O season at 7-5.

Medina’s Tyler Chinn throws up a shot as Brandon Orr defends for Akron.