M-L United bows as PK shootout decides title

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 8 August 2019 at 9:24 pm

Photos by Cheryl Wertman – Jacob Corser brings the ball up field for Medina-Lyndonville United during this evening’s playoff title game loss to Niagara-Wheatfield at Lyndonville.

Niagara-Wheatfield bested Medina-Lyndonville United 4-2 in a penalty kick shootout to capture the Buffalo and Western New York Junior Soccer League U17C Division playoff championship this evening at Lyndonville.

M-L United jumped out to a 1-0 lead as Dan Mandujano scored off an assist from Nate Dillenbeck with 15 minutes to go in the first half but could not build on the advantage.

It remained a tight 1-0 game at the half as M-L United missed two big late scoring opportunities, the second coming when the ball rattled off the cross bar.

Niagara-Wheatfield knotted the contest at 1-1 with a goal in the opening two minutes into the second half and neither team could find the net again in regulation time.

M-L United did have several more big scoring chances, especially in the final 15 minutes, but couldn’t capitalize including just missing on a header, a direct kick and a corner opportunity.

That set the stage for a title deciding penalty kick shootout which saw N-W’s first four shooters score to lock up the crown as M-L United’s only PK tallies were by Mandujano and Cole Seefeldt.

M-L United, which had a win (3-1) and a tie (2-2) against Niagara-Wheatfield during the regular season winds up at 7-1-2.  N-W finishes at 8-1-1.

M-L United’s Nate Dillenbeck slides under a N-W player to knock the ball away.