Lyndonville, Medina faculty squads to meet on the court

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 15 March 2016 at 12:00 am

While national attention may be focused on the start of the NCAA Tournament this week, the local basketball spotlight will shine on the Lyndonville High court Wednesday evening for a special cage contest.

Local bragging rights and a trophy will be on the line as Lyndonville and Medina faculty squads will meet in the 7 p.m. challenge contest. The trophy which will go to the winning team will reside at that school until the next game next year.

The Lyndonville faculty team will include Lee Dillenbeck, Brad Hoffee, Colt Tooley, Shane Phillips, Kevin Lasky, Barry Webber, Jeff Kingsbury, Jim O’Connor, Joey Suhr, Sonny Dent and Jason Wilhelm.

The Medina faculty squad will include Eric Valley, Chris Hughes, Mike Lepkyj, Steve Luksch, Jesse Mankowski, Jason Barnum, PJ Bell, Dave King, Matt Albone, Jon Sherman, Dylan Jay and Adam Hellwig.

The activities will get underway with a youth basketball game at 6:30 p.m.

The game is sponsored by the Lyndonville Boosters Club and a portion of the proceeds will go to Camp Rainbow.