Lyndonville grapplers post key G-R victory over defending champion Holley

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 9 December 2014 at 12:00 am

Photo by Cheryl Wertman – Lyndonville’s Devin Joy works toward a pin over Holley’s Chris Stern during the host Tigers victory over the defending champion Hawks this evening.

Eight pins powered host Lyndonville to a 58-27 victory over defending champion Holley this evening in a key season opening Genesee Region League wrestling match.

Seth Heveron (99), Garren Bayne (113), Cullen Heveron (120), Tony Recco (126), Dustin Hinkley (132), Tom Follman (152), Devon Joy (160) and Dawson Joy (195) all notched pins to key the win for the Tigers.

“Our kids really stepped up,” said Lyndonville Coach Jeff Gress of the Tigers first win over the Hawks in many years. “We did a lot of preparation for this one and our kids really wrestled hard. I’m just very proud of them. This was my Super Bowl win.”

Photo by Cheryl Wertman – Lyndonville’s Tom Follman in route to scoring a pin over Patrick Purtell.

Holley did grab a 12-0 lead at the outset on a forfeit win and Lucas Silvis’ (285) pin over Frank Carrisquillo in 2:27.

However, Lyndonville quickly rallied into a 12-12 tie after a forfeit win and Seth Heveron’s pin in 2:21 over Kory Shoonmaker.

The Tigers then took control by registering four straight pins.

Bayne ignited that surge with a pin over Brandon Gardner in 2:21. Cullen Heveron then pinned Brandon Morrell in 4:43, Recco pinned Eric Balys in 3:18 and Hinkley scored a quick 39 second fall over Zach Farruggia to quickly vault Lyndonville out to a 36-12 advantage.

Photo by Cheryl Wertman – Lyndonville’s Dustin Hinkley works to score a sub minute pin over Zach Farrugia.

Lyndonville’s Chris McDonald (138) then scored an 11-3 major win over Nick Shenck to make it 40-12 before Holley finally got on the scoreboard again via Martin Beadle’s 11-6 decision win over Dustin Joy at 145.

Lyndonville though answered right back by taking the final three bouts that were decided on the mat, all by pin. During that stretch, Follman pinned Patrick Purtell in 3:05, Devin Joy pinned Chris Stern in 1:29 and Dawson Joy pinned Ross Pinson in 2:17.

Photo by Cheryl Wertman – Holley’s Lucas Silvis in route to earning a pin over Frank Carrisquillo.