Lyndonville basketball camp proves popular

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 11 July 2015 at 12:00 am

Contributed Photos  – The coaches and participants in the intermediate group (grades 7-9) at the recent Lyndonville Basketball Camp are shown here. In the front row, from left, are Hayden Woodward, Anthony Moule, Rolland Balcerzak, Jude Isaacson, Ethan Craig, Nathan Dillenbeck, and Noah Poler. In the second row are Coach Mackenzie Muck, Chase Woodward, Anna Lewis, Tessa Heideman, Reese Raduns, Savanah Poler, Jennalee Riemer, Tanner Burt-Hodgins and Coach Jasmine Plummer. In the third row are Coach Barry Webber, Coach Morgan Hungerford, Dillon Burt-Hodgins, Brody Brown, Nathan Hydock, Zack Johnson, Nathan Poler, Coach Nick Hinkson, Coach Eric Neace and Coach Lee Dillenbeck.

Nearly 40 youngsters in grades 4-9 attended the recent Lyndonville Basketball Camp.

Participants, who were divided into two age groups (4-6 and 7-9) took part in a variety of games, drills and competitions to sharpen their basketball skills at the camp which was directed by Lyndonville boys varsity Coach Lee Dillenbeck and girls varsity Coach Barry Webber.

“Coach Webber and I were very pleased with the turnout,” said Coach Dillenbeck. “The benefits of having so many kids participate, to practice the fundamentals and to learn to play together is huge for the future of our program. It was our inaugural camp and we’re hoping to build on it in the future. And it was great to see our varsity kids come in and give back to the program by helping the younger kids.”

The award winners in the intermediate group included, from left, Nathan Dillenbeck (Free Throw Champion), Savanah Poler (Most Improved Player), Zack Johnson (Hot Shot Champ and MVP) and Rolland Balcerzak (Hustle Award).

The participants and coaches in the younger group (grades 4-6) at the Lyndonville Basketball Camp included, in front from left, Ella Lewis, Addison Dillenbeck, Felix Isaacson, Cheyenne Tackley, Ian Mank, Mary Isaacson, Lorelei Dillenbeck and Haley Shaffer. In the second row are Gracie Johnson, Isabella Santella, Trenton Muck, Tessa Heideman, Zack Hill, Payton Grabowski, Owen Mank, Noah Poler and Jackson Webber. In the third row are Coach Barry Webber, Coach Jasmine Plummer, Coach Mackenzie Muck, Coach Morgan Hungerford, Coach Nick Hinkson and Coach Lee Dillenbeck.

The award winners in the younger group included, from left, Noah Poler (Hot Shot Champion and MVP), Haley Shaffer (Most Improved Player), Ella Lewis (Hustle Award), and Owen Mank (Free Throw Champion).