Lyndonville Athletic Hall of Fame will have five new inductees

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 4 May 2022 at 10:03 am

The Lyndonville High Athletic Hall of Fame will induct its second class at a banquet on Sunday May 15 at 1 p.m. at White Birch.

The new inductees will include Bill Harrold (Class of 1951), Alan Rutherford (Class of 1997), Sherri Stephens (Class of 1998), Cody Dix (Class of 2010) and the 2013 Section V champion softball team.

Harrold played varsity football and baseball for three years (1949, 50, 51) and varsity basketball for two years (1950-51). One of the founders of the Lyndonville Little League program, he earned a B.S. in Agriculture from the University of Georgia in 1955 and played football while in the Army.

Rutherford captured the state Class D High Jump championship in 1997 with a leap of 6-6. A Genesee Region League All-Star in 1996 and 1997, he holds Lyndonville records in both the High Jump (6-6) and Triple Jump (43-6 3/4). He also played varsity basketball for two years (1996, 1997).

Stephens played varsity softball for four years (1995, 96, 97, 98), varsity soccer for three years (1995, 96, 97) and varsity basketball for three years (1995-96, 96-97, 97-98). She earned G-R All-Star honors in all three sports in 1996, 1997 and 1998 and was an All Greater Rochester honoree in soccer and basketball in 1998. She was a basketball scholarship recipient to Nazareth College.

Dix was a four year varsity starter in soccer, wrestling and baseball. A three time Class B wrestling place finisher, he was the 2010 Class B champion and a G-R All-Star. On the baseball diamond, he is the current Section V and state leader in career doubles with 63, the Section V leader in season hits with 57 and is fifth in the state in career hits with 183, He was a three time G-R All-Star (2008, 09, 10) and the G-R and Section V Player of the Year in 2010.

The 2013 varsity softball team became the first girls team in Lyndonville history to win a sectional title when the Lady Tigers captured the Section V Class D1 title. Coached by Joe Moore and Rick Boyle the team compiled a 13-7 record season record and went 16-8 overall. The team’s roster included Kaity Albone, Madison Boyle, Cheyenne Button, Jenna Castricone, Madison Gardepe, Alex Harling, Rebecca Hoffee, Alyssa Houseman, Katie Marek, Chelsey Silversmith, Keri Stillinger, Sierra VanWycke and Haley Wetherbee.

Tickets are $15/person and there are currently no restrictions on attendees.

To purchase a ticket to the banquet, contact Kathi Lang ( or Jim Zeliff ( You can also send an RSVP addressed to Jim Zeliff with your name, number attending and the appropriate amount to the school at: 25 Housel Avenue Lyndonville, NY 14098. Checks should be made payable to White Birch Golf Course. Reservations must be made by May 10.