Local trio earns All-State football honors

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 3 January 2018 at 3:03 pm

Photos by Cheryl Wertman – Local All-State football honorees include, from left, Mason Lewis, Jalin Cooper and Ugene Harrison.

Three local players have earned spots on the Class B All-State football squad.

Medina senior wide receiver Jalin Cooper has been named to the first team, Mustangs senior defensive back Mason Lewis to the fourth team and Albion junior running back Ugene Harrison to the fifth team.

Cooper, who has accepted a Division 1 football scholarship to the University of Toledo, had 843 all purpose yards and 7 touchdowns last season.

Lewis made 72 tackles and had 3 interceptions.

Harrison rushes for 905 yards and scored 11 touchdowns and also made 60 tackles on defense.

Three Newfane players also earned spots on the Class B squad as linebacker Julian Nixon was named to the third team, quarterback Brandon Gross to the fifth team and lineman Connor Hill received Honorable Mention.

The Class C squad saw Akron senior running back Jake Sarow earn first team honors.