Local quartet earns titles at Medina’s annual Gary Gross Memorial Wrestling Tournament

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 26 January 2019 at 6:44 pm

Photos by Cheryl Wertman – Medina’s Colby Petrie works toward an overtime win over Lyndonville’s Chase Stinson during Medina’s annual Gary Gross Memorial Wrestling Tournament this afternoon.

A quartet of local wrestlers earned championships at Medina’s fourth annual Gary Gross Memorial Wrestling Tournament this afternoon.

The tournament honors the memory of the father of Medina wrestling Coach Eric Gross who was a very active long-time supporter of the Mustangs wrestling program.

The victorious local foursome included Colby Petrie (126) and RaShawn Bloom (99) from Medina, AJ Schafer (160) from Roy-Hart/Barker and Cody Wilson (285) from Albion.

Petrie, who earned the MVP award for the lighter weight classes, had the most exciting title round match as he edged past Lyndonville’s Chase Stinson in a marathon three overtime contest 10-7.

Trailing 5-3 going into the third period, Petrie rallied to knot the match at 7-7 and force overtime.

Neither wrestler was able to score a point in the first minute long overtime period or in the second 30 second period. Petrie finally claimed the win by scoring a three-point near fall in the third 30 second OT period.

Petrie advanced to the finals by scoring a quick 32 second pin in the quarterfinals and then a 17-0 technical fall victory in the semifinals.

Stinson advanced with a pair of pins registering a fall of 2:53 in the quarterfinals and of 40 seconds in the semis.

Stinson works against Petrie.

Bloom earned his title by scoring a 5-0 decision win over Caden Barrientos from Lew-Port.  He advanced to the finals by registering a pin of 3:03 in the semifinals.

Schafer registered a pin of 5:04 in his championship bout over Lyndonville’s Rodney Davis.

Schafer, who earned the MVP award for the upper weight classes, gained a berth in the finals by earning a 13-2 major decision win in the quarterfinals and a lightning quick 16 second pin in the semis.

Davis notched pins of 1:19 in the quarterfinals and 3:41 in the semis to advance to the title match.

Wilson earned his title by registering a pin of 3:54 over Daniel Preston from Churchville-Chili.  He advanced by notching a pin of 5:58 in the semifinals.

Three other local wrestlers earned second place honors including Lyndonville’s Connor Bell at 113 along with the Roy-Hart/Barker duo of Colby Hancock at 145 and Karson Grover at 195.

Albion’s Ellwood Hafner (120) and Jessy Cruz (170) both placed third as did Medina’s Robert Morehouse (285) and Lyndonville’s Brennon Munn (132).

The tournament’s other champions, by weight class, included: 106- Andrew Caudill (Gilead), 113 – Trent Reid (Lew-Port), 120 – Mitchell Gaiser (Alexander), 132 – Gavin Hart (Keshequa/Dansville), 138 – Noah Stachowiak (Attica/Batavia), 145 – Malachy Farrell (Avon/Geneseo), 152 – Ty Raines (Churchville-Chili), 170 – Brennan Fingler (Churchville-Chili), 182 – Brandon Larkin (Lockport), 195 – Karam Ali (Keshequa/Dansville), 220 – Shane Crandall (Keshequa/Dansville).

Attica/Batavia won the team championship by garnering a total of 171 points.  Alexander finished second with 153.5 followed by Churchville-Chili 152, Avon/Geneseo 142, Keshequa/Dansville 141, Albion 131.5, Medina 106.5; Roy-Hart/Barker 103, Lyndonville 100, Lew-Port 87, Lockport 49, Gilead 26 and Wilson 21 to round out the 13 team field.

Medina’s RaShawn Bloom works toward the 99 lb. title win over Lew-Port’s Caden Barrientos.

AJ Schafer of Roy-Hart/Barker in route to notching a pin over Lyndonville’s Rodey Davis in the 160 lb. title bout.

Albion’s Cody Wilson in route to scoring a pin over Daniel Preston (Churchville-Chili) in the 285 lb. title bout.

The local quartet of tourney champions included, from left, Colby Petrie (Medina), Cody Wilson (Albion), AJ Schafer (Roy-Hart/Barker) and RaShawn Bloom (Medina).