Local players on All-WNY football squad

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 15 December 2019 at 3:32 pm

Photo by Cheryl Wertman – Cody Wilson

Class B Division 3 champion and sectional runner-up Albion has placed five players on the All Western New York football squad.

Senior offensive tackle/defensive end Cody Wilson has been named to the second team while senior quarterback/kicker Thomas Furmanski, senior running backs/defensive backs Bril Johnson and Tyray White and senior running back/defensive lineman Deyonci Farley have all earned Honorable Mention.

Wilson was a finalist for the Trench Award, which honors the top two-way lineman in WNY.

Furmanski passed for 10 touchdowns, ran for 4 and kicked two field goals while White had 9 rushing touchdowns and Johnson and Farley 6 each for the Purple Eagles.

Medina junior wide receiver/defensive back Brian Fy also earned Honorable Mention. He led the Mustangs with 10 touchdowns and 1,035 all purpose yards and was also in on 62 tackles.

Wilson’s defensive linemen DeClan Faery also earned second team honors.

The Honorable Mention honorees list also includes quarterback Adam Mietz from Akron, quarterback Garrett Srock and linebacker Jaden Heers from Newfane and linebacker Drew Westmoreland from Wilson.