Local gridders earn B-North All-Star honors

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 26 November 2013 at 12:00 am

Photo by Mike Wertman – Albion’s first and second team B-North Division football All-Stars include, in front, Steven Stauss, left, and Jon Trembley. In back, from left, are Dominic DiCureia, Kollin Reynolds, John Warne and Ed Wolfe.

Four Albion and three Medina players have been named to the first team of the annual B-North Division All-Star football squad.

The Purple Eagles are represented by the senior quartet of linemen Steven Stauss and Jon Trembley, running back Ed Wolfe and punter/quarterback John Warne.

The Mustangs have placed senior linebacker/running backs Kyle Barna and Dan Brown and junior quarterback Jason Hellwig.

Barker/Roy-Hart is represented on the first team by versatile senior back Jacob Haight.

Albion also had two second team selections in senior running back/linebacker Kollin Reynolds and defensive back/running back Dominic DiCureia along with three honorable mention picks in seniors Dylan Burkhardt and Robert June and sophomore Des Blackmon.

Medina also had wide receiver Dylan Lewis and lineman Charles Beach, both sophomores, earn second team honors while the junior trio of Ty Hrovat, Brett Pecoraro and Brandon Schoolcraft all received honorable mention.

Barker/Roy-Hart also had lineman Tim Flint and linebacker Austin Deopp, both seniors, earn second team honors while senior James Brady and sophomores Andy Xapsos and Chris Steves both received honorable mention.

Stauss had 78 tackles, three sacks and a fumble recovery and Trembley 52 tackles.
Wolfe had 1,081 yards rushing, 10 touchdowns and made 61 tackles and Warne completed 51 of 105 passes for 668 yards and eight touchdowns and also had a 35.6 yard punting average.

Reynolds was in on 68 tackles and offensively rushed for 185 yards and three touchdowns while DiCureia made 45 tackles and had four interceptions.

Photo by Mike Wertman – Medina’s trio of first team B-North Division honorees include, from left, Jason Hellwig, Dan Brown and Kyle Barna.

Barna, who scored a total of 13 touchdowns, had over 1,300 all purpose yards including 587 rushing and 532 receiving on 32 catches. Defensively, he made 51 tackles and had four sacks.

Brown, who scored 10 touchdowns, had over 1.000 all purpose yards including 769 rushing and 131 receiving on 13 receptions. On defense, he made 57 tackles and had four fumble recoveries.

Hellwig, who became the Mustangs career touchdown passing leader with 29, completed 83 of 153 pass attempts for 1,158 yards and 13 touchdowns. He also ran for two scores.

Lewis had 17 receptions for 312 yards and five touchdowns and Beach had 57 tackles, one sack and a fumble recovery.

Photo by Cheryl Wertman – Barker/Roy-Hart is represented on the first team of the B-North Divison All-Star squad by Jacob Haight.

Haight was Mr. Versatility for Barker/Roy-Hart as he had over 1,200 all-purpose yards and a total of 16 touchdowns including 821 yards rushing and 10 touchdowns, 241 yards receiving and five touchdowns. On defense, he had 52 tackless, three interceptions and a fumble recovery.