Albion Lions give $2,500 in scholarships, $5,000 to Y project

By Tom Rivers, Editor Posted 28 May 2013 at 12:00 am

Photos by Tom Rivers – The Albion Lions Club is giving five Albion High School seniors each $500 in scholarships to help pay for college. The students were invited to the club’s meeting tonight at the Masonic Lodge on Platt Street. The group includes, from left: Dennis Smith, member of the Lions scholarship committee; Sarah Papponetti; Gretta Smith; Lions Club President Wilfred Moss; Tanisha Moyer, Michael Patterson; and Bob Galbreath, member of scholarship committee. Alison O’Hearn was unable to attend the Lions Club meeting.

ALBION – A year of fund-raising, from selling geraniums to sausage, bore fruit today when the Lions Club in Albion awarded five scholarships for a combined $2,500. The club also presented a check for $5,000 to the Orleans County YMCA.

“We like to support the kids in school,” said long-time member Dennis Smith, a member of the scholarship committee.

The club awarded $500 scholarships to the following students: Tanisha Moyer, who is headed to Niagara County Community College to study psychology; Sarah Papponetti, a physical therapy major at Nazareth College; Michael Patterson, who will study engineering at Harvard University; Alison O’Hearn, a biology and pre-med major at Grove City College; and Gretta Smith, an undecided major at Monroe Community College.

The club also presented a $5,000 check to the Orleans County YMCA, which is raising money for a $400,000 capital project in Medina at the former armory. The organization has increased its efforts in Albion, running child care and summer camps.

“They’ve expanded throughout Orleans County,” Smith said. “We think it’s worthwhile to support them.”

The Lions Club also is giving $5,000 towards the $400,000 capital campaign for the Orleans County YMCA in Medina. The organization has expanded its programming in Albion. Pictured, from left: Lions Club President Wilfred Moss, Y Board President Dean Bellack, and Dan Parker, Lions vice president.