Lady Tigers look to keep rolling

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 25 March 2014 at 12:00 am

Photo by Mike Wertman – Lyndonville’s returning starters include, in front, Madison Gardepe, Rebekah Hoffee and Maddy Boyle. In back are Jenna Castricone, Katie Marek and Kaity Albone. Missing from the photo is Cheyenne Button.

Looking to keep the momentum from last year’s historic sectional championship campaign, the Lyndonville softball squad returns a solid nucleus of seven starters.

Seniors Madison Gardepe (catcher), Jenna Castricone (third base), Katie Marek (outfield) and Cheyenne Button (outfield) head that veteran group which also includes juniors Maddy Boyle (pitcher), Rebekah Hoffee (shortstop) and Kaity Albone (outfield).

Boyle was named the MVP of the Section V Class D1 Tournament while Gardepe, Marek and Hoffee were all named to the All-Tournament team.

“The key for us is all the core players that are returning. We have a good returning core,” said Coach Joe Moore whose Lady Tigers notched 15 wins and captured the first sectional title (Class D1) in school history last year. “Our pitching and defense should be strong and I’m pretty confident in our hitting so we should be right in the hunt.”

The Lady Tigers roster also includes juniors Haley Wetherbee (pitcher/outfield), Morgan Hungerford (first base), Danielle Allison (outfield), Mason Bayne (outfield), Paige Williams, Victoria Woodward and Brianna Hurley.

The Lady Tigers key losses to graduation were outfielder Alyssa Houseman and first baseman Alex Harling.

“We’ve got a little tougher schedule this year which should make us a better team,” said Moore. “It’s a great group. Their attitudes are great and they got a taste of winning last year.”

The Lady Tigers are scheduled to open the Genesee Region League campaign on April 7 at home against Wheatland-Chili.

Lyndonville’s schedule is as follows:
April 7 – Wheatland-Chili, 4:30 p.m.
April 9 – Elba, 4:30 p.m.
April 11 – at Oakfield-Alabama, 4:30 p.m.
April 16 – at Notre Dame, 4:30 p.m.
April 17 – Wilson, 11 a.m.
April 18 – at Medina, 11 a.m.
April 22 – Pembroke, 4:30 p.m.
April 24 – at Attica, 4:30 p.m.
April 26 – Barker, 11 a.m.
April 28 – Kendall, 4:30 p.m.
April 30 – at Alexander, 4:30 p.m.
May 1 – at Holley, 4:30 p.m.
May 5 – Byron-Bergen, 4:30 p.m.
May 7 – at Northstar, 4:30 p.m.
May 9 – at Wheatland-Chili, 4:30 p.m.
May 10 – vs. Albion at Pembroke Tournament, 10 a.m.
May 12 – at Elba, 4:30 p.m.
May 13 – Oakfield-Alabama, 4:30 p.m.
May 15 – Notre Dame, 4:30 p.m.