Lady Tigers have youthful lineup

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 18 March 2018 at 7:05 am

Photo by Mike Wertman – Anchoring the lineup for the Lyndonville softball team this season will be this group of veterans. In front are Ella Lewis, Miranda Lembcke and Anna Lewis. In back are Victoria Newman, Stacey Buckland, Cassidy Boyce and Alecia Hinkson.

Lyndonville, which captured the Section V D1 softball championship last spring, is prepping for the season with a very youthful squad anchored a good veteran contingent of two seniors and five underclassmen.

That group includes seniors Miranda Lembcke (catcher) and Victoria Newman (outfield) along with juniors Anna Lewis (outfield), Alecia Hinkson (outfield), Stacey Buckland (pitcher/first base), Cassidy Boyce (third base) and eighth grader Ella Lewis (infield/outfield).

Lembcke and Anna Lewis both earned Genesee Region League All-Star honors last spring.
The Lady Tigers are also looking to sophomore Megan Krisher (infield/outfield), freshman Chloe Stinson (shortstop) and eighth grader Gracie Johnson (pitcher).

“We’re still a very young team but if we can play everyone in the position they should play we should be pretty solid,” said Coach Joe Moore. “It really depends on the pitching.”

Lyndonville went 12-3 in the G-R League and 15-5 overall last year.

The Lady Tigers graduation losses included G-R All-Star shortstop Aubrey Lewis and first baseman Makenzie Muck.

The Lady Tigers are scheduled to begin tuning up for the April 9 G-R home opener against Wheatland-Chili by hosting Albion on April 4.

April: 4 – Albion, 1 p.m.; 5 – at Wilson, 4:30 p.m.; 6 – Roy-Hart, 11 a.m.; 9 – Wheatland-Chili, 4:30 p.m.; 11 – Elba 4:30 p.m.; 12 – at Kendall, 4:30 p.m.; 14 – Medina, 4:30 p.m.; 16 – at Notre Dame, 4:30 p.m.; 18 – Pembroke ,4:30 p.m.;20 – at Attica, 4:30 p.m.; 24 – Oakfield-Alabama, 4:30 p.m.; 26 – at Alexander, 4:30 p.m.; 30 – Byron-Bergen, 4:30 p.m.
May: 2 – at Holley, 4:30 p.m.; 4 – at Elba, 4:30 p.m.; 7 – at Wheatland-Chili, 4:30 p.m.; 8 – Lima Christian, 4:45 p.m.; 10 – Barker, 4:30 p.m.; 11 – Kendall, 4:30 p.m.; 14 – Notre Dame, 4:30 p.m.