Lady Rams trio heads N-O All-League team

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 17 June 2019 at 9:21 am

Contributed Photos – Roy-Hart’s first team honorees Jamie Bower, Maddie Fry and Mallory Steiner.

Three players from undefeated (12-0) champion Roy-Hart head the first team of the annual Niagara-Orleans All-League softball squad.

That trio includes senior catcher Maddie Fry, who is a four time first team selection, senior third baseman Jamie Bower and sophomore pitcher Mallory Steiner. Fry has also been named N-O Player of the Year.

Fry hit .615 with 6 doubles, 5 triples, 3 home runs and 31 RBI; Bower .508 with 6 doubles, 3 triples, 3 homers and 27 RBI and Steiner .493 with 7 doubles, 5 triples, 4 home runs and 34 RBI. In the circle, she had 45 strikeouts in 38 innings and allowed a total of only 9 runs.

Runnerup Akron (9-3) is represented by the senior duo of first baseman Helena Hill and shortstop Darion Jonathan. Hill hit .488 with 2 doubles, 4 triples and 5 RBI and Jonathan .551 with 5 doubles, 5 triples and 17 RBI.

Medina’s Ashlee Howell and Brandi Guild

Third place Medina (8-4) also has two senior honorees in catcher Ashlee Howell and shortstop Brandi Guild. Howell hit .600 and had a fielding average of .972 and Guild hit .433 with a fielding average of ..955.

Rounding out the first team are Albion senior center fielder Brylie Hapeman who hit .364, Barker sophomore shortstop Sydnie Lucklamn who hit .435 and drove in 17 runs, Wilson junior shortstop Emilee Muoio who hit .435 and had 12 RBI and Newfane freshman third baseman Julia Dumais.

The second team includes senior outfielder Lexie Lovewell and junior second baseman Sam Choate from Roy-Hart; freshman pitcher Jenelle Kieffer and sophomore center fielder Jessee Jonathan from Akron; senior pitcher Cora Payne and junior pitcher Lacey Kenward from Medina; sophomore catcher Julie Faery and sophomore outfielder Tori Pawlak from Wilson along with Albion senior shortstop Lexi Wolck, Newfane senior pitcher Jess Shoemaker and Barker sophomore pitcher Jessaylnn Coen.

The Honorable Mention selections, listed by school, are as follows:

Akron – sophomore second baseman Madison Henning.

Albion – junior outfielder Kendall Derisley and junior second baseman Paige Derisley.

Barker – junior pitcher Emily Wagner .

Medina – junior outfielders Camri King and Abi Neuman.

Newfane – senior outfielder Natalie Wagner.

Roy-Hart – senior outfielders Jayden Townsend and Ashley Hlll and freshman Reanna Perkins.

Wilson – sophomore first baseman Alycia Thompson.

Albion’s Brylie Hapeman along with Akron’s Darion Jonathan and Helena Hill.

Sydnie Luckman (Barker), Emilee Muoio (Wilson) and Julia Dumais (Newfane)