Lady Raiders extend N-O reign

Staff Reports Posted 17 October 2014 at 12:00 am

Contributed Photo

Extending a now nearly decade long reign, Barker clinched a ninth straight Niagara-Orleans League field hockey championship by blanking runner-up Akron (9-2) 4-0 on Thursday to stay perfect at 11-0 in league action. The Lady Raiders infact have compiled an incredible record of 113-1-5 to date during this nine year title run. After tying Akron for the title in 2006 at 12-0-2, Barker has claimed the N-O crown outright by going 13-0-1 in both 2007 and 2008, 14-0 in 2009, 2010 and 2011, 11-0-1 in 2012 and 11-1-0 in 2013. And beginning in 2000, Barker has claimed the N-O title 13 of the last 15 seasons. Shown here after their title clinching win, the Lady Raiders squad includes, in front from left, Elizabeth Luckman, Renee Levy, Morgan Brown, Kelsey Blackley, Gabriella Clare, Alexandrea VeRost, Melissa Grosshans.

In back are Lena Fazzolari (manager), Emma Duffy, Lydia Dewart, Amber Schafer, Erin Greenwald, Rebecca Stoloski, Paige Fudella, Caitlyn Mason, Madison Greenwald, Kelsie Engert, Courtney Bodine, Erika Moeller, Megan Hotaling (manager).