Lady Panthers quintet heads N-O All-League girls soccer team

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 9 November 2016 at 5:54 pm

Contributed Photos – Three of champion Newfane’s five first team All-League honors include, from left, Kayleigh Daniels, Emily Foltz and Madalyn Traverse.

Champion Newfane has placed five players on the first team of the annual Niagara-Orleans League girls soccer squad.

The Lady Panthers contingent includes junior forward Kayleigh Daniels, junior midfielder Emily Foltz, senior defenders Makena Carpenter and Kaelen Swogier and sophomore goalie Madalyn Traverse. Foltz and Carpenter are repeat selections.

Daniels had 16 goals and 14 assists, Foltz 16 goals and 10 assists and Carpenter 7 goals and 3 assists.

Wilson is represented by a quartet of senior players including forward Kayla Neumann, midfielders Emily Patterson and Rachel Senek and defender Jen Darlark. Patterson is a three-time honoree while Neuman is a repeat selection.

Neuman had 21 goals and 11 assists, Senek 7 goals and 7 assists and Patterson 6 goals and 8 assists.

Albion has placed senior midfielder Emily Blanchard, a three-time honoree, who had 18 goals and 11 assists this season.

Medina is represented by junior forward Destiny Satkowski who had 21 goals and 3 assists.

Rounding out the first team is Akron junior defender MacKenzie O’Brien.


Newfane’s Kaelen Swogier and Makena Carpenter along with Wilson’s Jen Darlak.

Akron led the way on the second team with four selections including 8th grade forward Kara Sequin, junior midfielder Maggie Leeds, sophomore midfielder Jenna Robnett and senior defender Emily Winney.

Albion is represented by a trio of players including senior forward Nikki Eldred, sophomore forward Brylie Hapeman and senior defender Vivian Rivers.

Roy-Hart is represented by sophomore midfielder Maddie Fry and junior defender Kayla Brown.

Wilson has placed the junior duo of defender Madelyn Austin and goalie Emily Kelly.

Completing the second team is Newfane senior midfielder Adelyn Burns.


Wilson’s Kayla Neumann, Emily Patterson and Rachel Senek.

The Honorable Mention list of players (by school) includes:

Medina – Martha Gardner (Jr.) and Hannah Adams (Jr.)

Barker – Kylie Miller (Jr.), Taylor Morris (Jr.) and Mallory Gross (Jr.)

Albion – Paige Derisley (Fr.), Natalie DiCureia (Jr.) and Isabella Prest (Sr.)

Akron – Laurie Poeller (Jr.) and Leah Czechowski (Sr.)

Roy-Hart -Kaleigh Kuzma (Sr.), Ava Bligh (Sr.) and Ellie Todd (Jr.)

Newfane – Samantha Brick (Sr.), Sarah Milcarski (So.) and Erica Flagler (Jr.)

Wilson – Aidan McGill (Sr.), Julia Seider (Jr.), Sarah Yousette (Jr.) and Victoria Vanderheite (Sr.)


Albion’s Emily Blanchrd, left, Medina’s Destiny Satkowski and Akron’s MacKenzie O’Brien.