Kludt tops NY corn growers for third straight year

By Tom Rivers, Editor Posted 20 December 2017 at 11:50 am

Wins yield contest with 322-bushels-per-acre

Photo by Tom Rivers: This photo from August 2016 shows corn on Brown Road in Albion.

KENDALL – Matt Kludt from Kludt Brothers Farm is the state champion for the third straight year in an annual corn yield contest.

Kludt won the no-till/strip-till non-irrigated class with a yield of 322.4 bushels per acre. He used a seed from Channel 201-00DGVT2PRIB.

Ryan Swede of Pavilion was second at 307.6 bushels per acre with Kludt close behind in third place with another entry at 306.6 bushels per acre.

Last year Kludt won with a yield of 298.5 acres in the no-till/strip-till non-irrigated class. Kludt also won the title in 2015 with 319.7 bushels per acre.

The National Corn Growers Association has announced the winners of the 2017 National Corn Yield Contest. There were five national entries that surpassed the 400-plus bushel per acre mark, including David Hula of Charles City, VA, with the biggest yield –  542.3 bushels with a seed from Pioneer. Hula competes in the no-till/strip-till irrigated class.

The contest is in its 53rd year and remains NCGA’s most popular program for members.

“The contest provides farmers more than just an opportunity for friendly competition; it generates data that impacts future production practices across the industry,” said Roger Zylstra, chair of NCGA’s Stewardship Action Team. “The techniques first developed by contest winners grow into far-reaching advances, helping farmers across the country excel in a variety of situations.  Our contest emphasizes innovation both from growers and technology providers, thus enabling us to meet the growing demand for food, feed, fuel and fiber.”

Winners receive national recognition in publications such as the NCYC Corn Yield Guide, as well as cash trips or other awards from participating sponsoring seed, chemical and crop protection companies. The winners will be honored during Commodity Classic 2018 in Anaheim, Calif.

Click here to visit National Corn Growers Association website www.ncga.com for the complete list of National and State winners.

Return to top