Kendall has youthful girls soccer squad

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 23 August 2018 at 7:13 am

Photo by Mike Wertman – Leading Kendall into the upcoming girls varsity soccer season will be this group of returnees. In front are Brooke Lawson, Hailee Mitchell and Lizzie Sutphen. In back are Katherine Pearson, Brianna Wakefield, Madison Jacob and Olivia Reed. Missing from the photo is Abby Jenks.

Underclassemen dominate the lineup for this season’s Kendall girls varsity soccer team as the Lady Eagles look to fill several big holes left by graduation losses.

Senior midielder/forwards Brooke Lawson and Abby Jenks head Kendall group of eight returning veterans which also includes juniors Hailee Mitchell (defender/midfield), Katherine Pearson (goalie/midfield), Lizzie Sutphen (defender/forward) and Olivia Reed (defender/midfield) along with sophomores Madison Jacob (midfield/forward) and Brianna Wakefield (midfield/forward).

The Lady Eagles graduation losses include last fall’s scoring leaders midfield/forwards Taylor ReQua (18 goals) and Micheala Hanlon (14 goals), goalie Hannah Ulman, midfielders Kayla Summers and Megan Hardenbrook along with defenders Adrianna Passarell, Raine Oakley, Lyndsay Wright and Andrea Villalobos.

“We’re really young and we have a lot of big shoes to fill,” said Coach Pam Barchet. “But they are really working hard and I see a lot of positives.”

Kendall, which went 8-3 in the league and 14-5 overall last fall, will open the season with a Genesee Region League game at Oakfield-Alabama/Elba on August 31.

August: 31 – at Oakfield-Alabama/Elba, 4:30 p.m.
September: 5 – at Notre Dame, 4:30 p.m.; 9-6 vs. Albion in Kendall Tournament, 7 p.m.; 8 – Kendall Tournament; 11 – Alexander, 6:30 p.m.; 13 – Pembroke, 6:30 p.m.; 17 – at Attica, 6:30 .m.; 19 – at Lyndonville/Medina, 4:30 p.m.; 21 – at HAC, 4:30 p.m.; 25 – at Byron-Bergen, 6:30 p.m.; 27 – at Holley, 6:30 p.m.; 29 – Notre Dame, 6:30 p.m.
October: 3 – at Pembroke, 4:30 p.m.; 5 – at Alexander, 6:30 p.m.; 9 – Oakkfield-Alabama/Elba, 6:30 p.m.; Wheatland-Chili, 6:30 p.m.