Kendall girls join two Holley boys teams as Orleans County’s only state soccer champions

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 13 November 2018 at 9:02 am

Contributed Photo – Helping to lead the Holley boys to the 1990 state championship was this quartet of, from left, Lee Dillenbeck, Keith Jarosinski, Frank Mitchell and Chip Sugar.

And now there are three!

Kendall made school and Orleans County history on Sunday when the Lady Eagles edged past Fort Ann 1-0 to capture the state Class D girls soccer championship.

The Lady Eagles, which claimed the crown on junior Hailee Mitchell’s 30th goal in the season midway through the second half, join the Holley boys, which captured back-to-back state Class D championships during the 1990 and 1991 seasons, as the county’s only state soccer champions.

Photo by Cheryl Wertman – Kendall’s Hailee Mitchell is congratulated by teammates after scoring the winning goal in Sunday’s state championship game against Fort Ann.

The 1990 Holley boys squad earned the county’s first state soccer crown by rallying to edge Southold High from Long Island 2-1 in overtime on two goals by Keith Jarosinski in the second 10 minute overtime period. Southold had taken a 1-0 lead in the first overtime period.

Coach Dan Orbaker’s Hawks advanced to the title contest by downing North Collins 2-1 in overtime in the Far West Regionals and by blanking Roxbury 4-0 in the state semifinals.

Jarosinski, who finished with 40 goals, headed a quint of Hawk players who earned Genesee Region League All-League honors which included Chip Sugar (22 goals), Lee Dillenbeck (15), Frank Mitchell (8) and Hai Nguyen (6). Dillenbeck is now Lyndonville’s athletic director and boys varsity basketball coach.

Holley then accomplished a rare feat by repeating as state champions in 1991 by downing Eastport from Long Island 3-1 on two goals by Andres Rick, a senior exchange student from Sweden, and one by Orlando Perez. Rick had a total of 35 goals on the season.

Orbaker’s Hawks blanked North Collins 3-0 in the Far West Regionals and downed Worchester 4-1 in the semifinals to gain a return trip to the state title contest.

Contributed Photo – Leading Holley to its second straight state championship in 1991 was this quartet of, from left, Andres Rick, Jeff Dinehart, Hai Nguyen and Ian Casperson.