Albion, Kendall duos head Orleans Hub All-Area boys basketball team

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 16 March 2015 at 12:00 am

Photos by Cheryl Wertman – Albion is represented on the first team of the OrleansHub All-Area team by Des Blackmon, left and Clayton Stanton.

Champions Albion and Kendall have both placed two players on the first team of the second annual OrleansHub All-Area boys basketball squad.

Albion, which captured its first Section VI championship in 43 years, is represented by seniors Des Blackmon and Clayton Stanton.

Kendall, which claimed a second straight Genesee Region League Division 1 championship, has placed seniors Will Condo and Mookie Nauden.

The first team also includes Medina senior Jason Hellwig and sixth man, Lyndonville sophomore Eric Neace.

During the regular season Blackmon scored 189 points (10. ave.) and had 55 rebounds, 50 steals and 40 deflections.

Stanton scored 173 points (10.2 ave.) and grabbed off 151 rebounds (8.9 ave.) despite missing two games.

Kendall’s first team representatives are Mookie Nauden, left, and Will Condo.

Condo averaged 15.8 points, 6.3 rebounds, 3.3 assists and 2.9 steals.

Nauden averaged 13.5 points, 7.2 rebounds, 4.7 assists and 2.9 steals.

Hellwig averaged a double-double of 16.8 points and 10.6 rebounds. He also averaged 4.8 assists per game.

Neace led Lyndonville in scoring with 316 points (15.0 ave.). He also had 130 rebounds, 24 assists and 20 steals.

Six schools are represented on the second team which includes Albion senior Austin Loyd, Holley senior Joey DeFelice, Roy-Hart junior Andy Xapsos, Lyndonville junior Nick Hinkson, Barker senior Christopher Sweeney and the sixth man, Medina junior Justin Morgan.

During the regular season Loyd averaged 12.3 points, DeFelce 10, Xapsos 17.9, Hinkson 12, Sweeney 10.3 and 10 rebounds and Morgan 10.9.

Earning Honorable Mention are Kendall junior Evan Gaesser, Holley senior Josh Porter, Lyndonville senior AJ Buckland and sophomore Eddie Schildt, Albion seniors Alex Bison and Manny Thompson and Medina freshman Jalin Cooper.

Rounding out the first team honorees are Lyndonville’s Eric Neace, left, and Medina’s Jason Hellwig.

OrleansHub All-County Squad

First Team
Will Condo, Kendall, Sr.
Mookie Nauden, Kendall, Sr.
Des Blackmon, Albion, Sr.
Clayton Stanton, Albion, Sr.
Jason Hellwig, Medina, Sr.
6th Man – Eric Neace, Lyndonville, So.

Second Team
Austin Loyd, Albion, Sr.
Joey DeFelice, Holley, Sr.
Andy Xapsos, Roy-Hart, Jr.
Nick Hinkson, Lyndonville, Jr.
Christopher Sweeney, Barker, Sr.
6th Man – Justin Morgan, Medina, Jr.

Honorable Mention
AJ Buckland, Lyndonville, Sr.
Eddie Schildt, Lyndonville, So.
Alex Bison, Albion, Sr.
Manny Thompson, Albion, Sr.
Josh Porter, Holley, Sr.
Evan Gaesser, Kendall, Jr.
Jalin Cooper, Medina, Fr.