Jr. Wilson 1 tops Banes for ‘A’ playoff title

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 14 August 2021 at 3:08 pm

Photos by Cheryl Wertman – Jr. Wilson 1  left center fielder Chasity Chinn runs in to catch a fly ball. At right, Jamie Chatt  hauls in a catch for Banes in left field. The action took place during this afternoon’s Medina Women’s Softball League ‘A’ Division playoff title game at Jr. Wilson which was won by Jr. Wilson 1.

Erupting for seven quick runs in the first inning, Jr. Wilson 1 went on to defeat Banes 15-2 in the Medina Women’s Softball League ‘A’ Division playoff championship game this afternoon at Jr. Wilson.

A three run triple by Ashlee Salisbury highlighted the decisive first inning scoring surge which also included hits by Chasity Chinn, Kaitlyn Miller, Jodi Zacher, Connie Hornquist, Penny Roath and a sacrifice by Jessica Rosenbeck.

Salisbury and Sara Flansburg later both had RBI singles in the fourth frame and Justine Daniels added an RBI sacrifice fly.

Jr. Wilson 1 later put a lock on the win by scoring five times in the fifth frame on a two-run triple by Flansburg and RBI singles by Miller, Zacher and Salisbury.

Defensively, Jr. Wilson turned a double play in the fourth inning from Zacher to Miller to Michele Crandall.

Jr. Wilson 1 advanced to the title contest by downing Banes 12-5 this morning in the winners bracket final. Chinn had a home run and Salisbury a triple to highlight the offense.

Banes rebounded with a 13-8 win over Bent Opera House to gain a spot in the finals. Jen Masse had a triple and Lindsay Chatt and Rileigh McCabe doubles.

In action at the plate are, at left, Justine Daniels for Jr. Wilson 1 and Grace Masse for Banes.

Jodi Zacher of Jr. Wilson 1 slides under the tag by third baseman Rileigh McCabe of Banes.