Jr. Wilson 1 and Banes share ‘A’ League title

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 26 July 2022 at 11:31 am

Jr. Wilson 1 combined a 16-4 win over Hemp House/810 Meadworks with Banes 12-5 loss to NYSCOPBA Monday evening to earn a share of the Medina Women’s Softball League regular season ‘A’ League title.

Jr. Wilson 1 and Banes share the title after finishing the regular season with identical 10-2 records. Jr. Wilson 1 downed Banes 14-3 the week before to stay in the title chase.

Jr. Wilson’s 1 scored two runs in the third inning and seven runs in the fourth in route to the win over Hemp House/810 Meadworks.

A string of walks along with timely hits in the fourth helped Jr. Wilson’s 1 keep the lead for good.

Chasity Chinn scored three runs, and was 3-3 with a double on the night. Stormi Kruger went 2-3 with a double and home run, while Sara Flansburg added a triple and Michele Crandall and Jessica Rosenbeck both had doubles for Jr. Wilson’s 1.

Alishia Foss had a triple and Cathy Schmitt a double for Hemp House/810 Meadworks which also dropped a narrow 16-13 decision to White Birch in the other portion of the doubleheader.

NYSCOPBA used a big 7 run third inning to break a 2-2 tie and key the win over Banes.

Chloe Stinson had a triple for NYSCOPBA while Sue Seefeldt, Lyndsay Chatt, Jen Masse and Grace Masse each had 2 hits for Banes.