Huskies top Mustangs in B Bowl final

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 26 October 2017 at 11:54 pm

Photos by Cheryl Wertman – Justice Hughes looks to gain yardage for Medina/Lyndonville behind the block of Elijah Sones during this evening’s bowl game against Olean at Pioneer High School.

An undermanned Medina/Lyndonville squad dropped a 17-6 decision to Olean this evening in the Class B  Chuck Funke Memorial Classic championship game at Pioneer High School.

Despite playing without their starting quarterback, Izaiah Rhim, wide receiver, Jalin Cooper, and running back, William Braswell, the Mustangs stayed within 10-6 midway through the third quarter after a 7-yard touchdown pass from Mason Lewis to Brendan Luthart. Lewis set up that tally with a big 71 yard run on a fake punt.

However, Olean answered right back with the clinching touchdown on a 1-yard run by Icar Simon with 1:08 remaining in the third period. A 29 yard run by Simon set up the tally.

The Mustangs could not cross midfield in the final period.

The Huskies had built up a 10-0 lead at the half on a 39 yard touchdown run by Dylan Vincent and a 24 yard field goal by Zach Linderman in the second quarter. A 35 yard pass completion from quarterback Luke Chapman to Daunte Jeter set up the field goal opportunity.

Defensively for Medina/Lyndonville Tyler Chinn had an interception and Derek White a sack.

The contest was called by officials with 2:50 remaining after a flagrant hit penalty which caused tempers to flare on both sides.

Both teams finish the season at 5-4.

Emmanual Taylor gains yardage for the Mustangs as Nick Crandall moves in to make the tackle for the Huskies.