Holley, Kendall have G-R girls soccer All-Stars

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 15 November 2018 at 8:34 am

Photos by Cheryl Wertman – Holley’s Genesee Region League soccer All-Stars include Halee Passarell, Olivia Radford and Peyton Sargent.

Three Holley and two Kendall players have earned spots on the Genesee Region League girls soccer All-Star team.

Holley is represented by junior forward Olivia Radford, sophomore midfielder Halee Passarell and senior defender Peyton Sargent. Passarell had 14 goals and 5 assists on the season and Radford 9 goals and 4 assists.

G-R Division II champion Kendall has placed the junior duo of midfielder Hailee Mitchell and defender Lizzie Sutphen. Mitchell, who was named G-R Co-Player of the Year, scored 30 goals.

Holley also had midfielder Kayleigh Neale and defender Allison Lyndaker, both sophomores, receive Honorable Mention.

Kendall had a quartet of Honorable Mention selections including sophomore midfielder Brianna Wakefield, freshman midfielder Grace Levett, freshman defender T’Mia Kitchings and junior goalie Katie Pearson. Levett had 11 goals on the season and Wakefield 9 while Pearson made 140 saves and had a goals against average of just 1.208.

Lyndonville/Medina likewise had four Honorable Mention selections including freshman forward Ella Lewis (11 goals) along with senior defenders Grace Hayes, Brianna McMullen and Ashlee Howell.

Kendall’s G-R All-Stars are Hailee Mitchell and Lizzie Sutphen.

Undefeated (13-0) G-R Division I champion Wheatland-Chili led the first team selections with six including sophomore forward Niyah Rosado (33 goals, 15 assists), junior midfielders Lindsey Clar (12 goals, 19 assists) and Jenna LaMere, sophomore defender Hannah Beldue, senior defender Maddie Jewell and senior goalie Janae Hooker. Clar shared the G-R Co-Player of the Year honor.

Byron-Bergen has four All-Star selections including junior forwards Miriam Tardy (19 goals, 6 assists) and Kelsey Fuller (15 goals, 14 assists), junior midfielder Melissa MacCowan and sophomore defender Zoey Chambry.

Alexander is represented by the trio of senior forward Macie Riggs, senior defender Jordin Cecere and junior goalie Jayme McBride (136 saves, 2.123 GAA).

The first team also includes junior forward Kelly Mickey (13 goals, 4 assists) and senior midfielder Brenna Ilacqua (7 goals, 11 assists) from Oakfield-Alabama/Elba, senior forward Callie McCulley (12 goals, 5 assists) and junior defender Morgan Rhodes from Notre Dame and sophomore midfielder Serene Calderon (6 goals, 7 assists) from Pembroke.

The Honorable Mention selections also includes sophomore midfielder Eden Goff and sophomore goalie Hope Hersome from Byron-Bergen, senior midfielder Karly Sondricker and senior defender Kacey Pearce from Attica, sophomore forward Ava Reinhart from Notre Dame, senior midfielder Cassie Parker from Wheatland-Chili, senior defender Lindsay Czechowski from Alexander, junior defender Paige Heale from Oakfield-Alabama/Elba and junior defender Mackenna Johnson from Pembroke.