Holley-Kendall and Roy-Hart/Barker wrestlers have class champions

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 3 February 2018 at 7:33 pm

Holley-Kendall’s Dylan Spellan (170) earned top honors at the Section V Class BB wrestling championships held today at Avon.

Spellan scored pins of 3:13 in the quarterfinals and 1:13 in the semis to advance to the finals where he scored a pin of 3:38 over Curtis Quick of Canisteo-Greenwaood.

The Hawks also had Tristyn Moyer (113) place second, Jeremy Browe (152) third and Cade Aina (145) and Frank Flynn (220) fifth. Moyer scored sub minute pins in the quarterfinals and semis but was then pinned in the finals by Chris Graham of Canisteo-Greenwood  in :43.

Roy-Hart/Barker had Ben Schwab (220) earn a title at the Section VI Class C championships held at Falconer.

Schwab scored a 7-0 decision win in the quarterfinals and an overtime win in the semis to gain a spot in the finals where he decisioned Newfane’s Jayden Heers 5-3.

Roy-Hart/Barker also had Tyler Choate (152) and Karson Grover (195) place third and Thomas Alvord Jr. (145) fourth.

Albion’s Preston Flugel (138) placed second at the Class C tourney. He scored a 2-1 win in the semis but lost to Giovani Russo of Fredonia 10-1 in the finals.

The Purple Eagles also had Ben Restivo (182) place third and Jessy Cruz (170), Donamic Farley (195) and Cody Wilson (220) fourth.

Medina had a trio of place finishers at the Class C competition as Elijah Sones (195) took second, Da’Ron Bellan (132) third and Rashawn Bloom (99) fourth. Sones advanced with s pin in the quarterfinals and a decision in the semis but then lost by a pin of 1:44 in the finals to top seeded Corey Keefe of Falconer.

Niagara-Orleans League champion Newfane had a trio of Class C winners including Andrew Lucinski (99), Julian Nixon (182) and Ty Casinelli (285).

The top four Class C place finishers and the top six Class BB place finishers advance to next weekend’s sectional championships.