Holley, Kendall and Medina districts earn state School of Distinction Award

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 14 July 2018 at 9:27 am

Capping off a strong athletic and academic year, three Orleans County Schools – Holley, Kendall and Medina – have earned New York State Public High School Athletic Association School of Distinction Awards for the 2017-18 school year.

A school district can earn School of Distinction status by having 100% of its varsity teams qualify for and receive the Scholar-Athlete team award during their respective sports seasons. A team must have a composite average of at least 90 in over to earn a Scholar-Athlete Award.

Medina, which was one of only five Section VI teams to receive the award, had all 21 of its varsity teams earn the Scholar-Athlete Awards.

Holley had all 16 of its varsity teams and Kendall all 13 of its teams. They are two of only three Section V schools to receive the honor.

The purpose of the School of Distinction and School of Excellence Awards are to unite varsity coaches in challenging their teams to achieve a statewide honor.

This year, 30 schools earned the School of Distinction Award and 111 schools earned the School of Excellence Award.  An additional 11 schools received the School of Distinction Award and 51 more received the School of Excellence Award compared to 2016-17 school year. This year’s figures represent the highest number of NYSPHSAA member schools being recognized for their academic achievements.

“The increase in the number of schools receiving both awards shows what fantastic student-athletes we have here in New York State,” said Robert Zayas NYSPHSAA Executive Director. “This is evidence that schools, administration, coaches and student-athletes focus on excellence in the classroom as well as the playing fields.”