Holley inducts 11 students into National Honor Society

Posted 6 January 2022 at 6:58 pm

Photos and information courtesy of Holley Central School

HOLLEY – The Holley High School National Honor Society inducted 11 students recently. They were inducted based on their application to the faculty selection committee and maintenance of a 90 percent or higher academic average.

The students must demonstrate the five qualities of NHS membership: character, scholarship, knowledge, leadership and service.

New NHS inductees are: Morgan Blosenhauer, Drew Carlston, Hunter Kaminski, Sarah Kelly, Shannon Kelly, Sara Kingdollar, Casey Onisk, Ava Quincey, Elise Quincey, Lily Sprague and Lydia Sprague.

The ceremony began with new inductees called to the front of the Holley Middle School/High School Auditorium, where they were escorted by current NHS members out of the auditorium to change into their black gowns. When they returned, new inductees joined current NHS members on stage for the ceremony. NHS officers lit the ceremonial candles and described each of the qualities of membership.

When the inductees’ names were announced, they received their membership certificates from Principal Susan Cory and signed their names in the book that maintains a record of every NHS inductee since 1938. Superintendent Brian Bartalo distributed membership pins to students’ family members. New inductees were then pinned by their family members before taking the NHS oath of membership as a group.

The guest speaker at the Induction Ceremony was Crystal Dobri, a Holley alumna and Professor of Nursing at St. John Fisher College. She was a member of NHS when she was a student at Holley. When she pursued her master’s degree at Roberts Wesleyan College, she was also part of the nursing honor society there.

Dobri reflected on her time at Holley, saying that Principal Cory was her guidance counselor and NHS Advisor Russ Albright was a first-year teacher when she was a senior. She talked about lifelong learning and all the nametags she’s had over the years as she progressed through being a student and employee in various settings.

“You’ve overcome many barriers in your time as a student,” she said. “You’ve shown your dedication to learning these last few years, and that’s what brought you here tonight. Keep growing and keep learning.”

Principal Cory congratulated the inductees and reminded them, “It’s what we do with our attitude and character that makes us successful.”

Current NHS members are: President Harleigh Andrews, Vice President Adriana Botello, Secretary Hope Falls, Treasurer Thomas Dobri, and members Kirsstin Althoff, Cora Bennage, Tatum Gagne’, Rachel Kinsey, Hayley Lipke, Grace McKeon, Broek Ostrom, Libbie Pecora and Deanna Schubmehl.