Holley honors state title teams and coach

Contributed Story Posted 8 October 2023 at 9:25 am

Contributed Photos – Coach Dan Orbaker

Last weekend Holley High honored a very special time in the history of the school’s boys soccer program as the Hawks 1990 and 1991 state championship teams and Coach Dan Orbaker, who guided those squads were inducted into the Holley Hawks Hall of Fame.

Following tradition, the inductees entered from behind the trees and onto the field to the sound of “Hells Bells” by AC/DC playing over the speaker. Together, they walked to centerfield alongside Coach Dan Orbaker and Assistant Coach Jim Palermo where they were introduced. They each wore Hawk Red headbands that read “Have no heart! Feel no pain!”

The 1990 team became the school’s first state championship soccer team with a 2-1 overtime victory over Southhold of Long Island in the Class D title contest. The Hawks, which finished the season with a 24-1-1 overall record, advanced to the state title contest by defeating Naples 3-1 in the Section V Class DD title game, Greenwood 4-0 in the Section V Class D state qualifier, North Collins 2-1 in overtime in the West Regional and Roxbury 4-0 in the state semifinal.

Adding a second title the following year, Holley’s 1991 team defeated Eastport of Long Island 3-1 in overtime in the Class D state championship game to complete a 24-0-1 season. To get there, the Hawks downed rival Kendall 2-1 in the Section V Class DDD title game to advance to the final. They went on to defeat Jasper-Troupsburg 4-0 in the Section V Class D state qualifier, North Collins 3-0 in the West Regional and Worchester 4-1 in the state semifinals.

Orbaker retired from his role as a high school chemistry teacher and varsity boys’ soccer coach at Holley in 2019 after 33 years. In that time, the Hawks secured 15 Genesee Region League titles, 9 Section V championships and 2 state titles. Inducted into the Section V Hall of Fame in 2019, Orbaker led the Hawks to over 450 wins and was named Section V Coach of the Year 10 times. Over 50 of the players he coached were named to the All-Greater Rochester team and 114 players went on to play soccer at the college level.

Players and coaches from the 1990 team who atended the ceremonies included, in front, Assistant Coach Jim Palermo, Orlando Perez, Jeff Dinehart, Hai Nguyen, Keith Jarosinski, Rob Requa and Scott Seely. In the back row: Ian Casperson, Jason Rees, Chip Sugar, Lee Dillenbeck, Mike Bennage, Brian Hein, Frank Mitchell, Chris Mitchell, Ben Schiavone, Coach Dan Orbaker. Not in attendance: Nick Hansen, Tan Le, John Gorman, Steve Young, Carl Pedly, Nick Voges.

Players and coaches from the 1991 team in attendence include, in the front row: Orlando Perez, Jeff Dinehart, Hai Nguyen, Ben Schiavone and Bill Sargent. In the back row: Assistant Coach Jim Palermo, Ian Caspersson, Rob Requa, Grant Seaward, Coach Dan Orbaker. Not in attendance: Floyd Hanes (d. 2019), Mark Golden and Carl Pedley, Dan Haslip, Reuben Kernan, Andres Rick, John Gorman, Anders Voigt and Steve Young.