Holley grapplers win battle to extend G-R title reign

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 25 February 2014 at 12:00 am

Contributed Photo – Members of Holley’s Genesee Region League championship wrestling team includes, in front from left, Ryan Camacho, Martin Beadle, John Tanis, Brendan Edwards, Dan Flanagan, Nick Shenck and Brandon Morrell. In the back row are Isaac Miller, Kevin Avery, David Weaver, Chris Stern, Cameron Thorn, Aaron Ierlan, Jake Bailey and Lucas Silvis.

Overcoming a number of hurdles and obstacles along the way, the Holley wrestling squad this season extended its string of Genesee Region League championship campaigns to five in a row.

In all it marks the 21st time in the last 25 years that the Hawks have claimed the G-R crown.

“It was a very tough season for Holley wrestling. We had to battle many obstacles the whole season,” said Hawks Coach John Grillo. “I am very proud of this group who never gave up. We had to pick up the pieces and rally the group for the grand finale as we won some very close meets at the end. Winning the Genesee Region League was no easy task.”

The Hawks were led by a veteran group which included seniors Kevin Avery, Jake Bailey, Dan Flanagan, Issac Miller, David Weaver and juniors Lucas Silvis, Martin Beadle and Brandon Morrell.

Avery placed second at the Section V Class BBB tournament while Morrell, Shenck, Flanagan and Beadle all took third , Silvis fourth and Camacho fifth. Avery and Beadle went on to place fourth at the Section V state qualifier.

During the G-R season, the Hawks rallied for a key 42-29 win over Byron-Bergen by taking five of the last six bouts on pins by Beadle, Camacho, Cameron Thorn and Weaver and a decision by Avery.

The Hawks later put a lock on the G-R title by nipping Alexander 35-33 as Thorn had a pin, Beadle a technical fall victory, Camaco a two point overtime win and Isaac Miller a key two point decision win.

“Each one of these wrestlers fought hard every second of their matches and pulled together to win another title,” said Grillo. “Each match had a different hero each time. We hung on by a thread to win it but this group was determined not to be the one to see the streak end.”