Holley claimed back-to-back G-R Division II baseball championships in 1990 and 1991

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 1 June 2020 at 9:50 am

Contributed Photo – Members of Holley’s 1990 Genesee Region League Division II championship baseball team included, in front, Shawn O’Mara, Rune Hartman, Dave Gurzynski, Eric Sheffer, Brian Robinson, Dave Brooker and Scott Combs. In back are Coach John McGraw, Lee Dillenbeck, Chris Stiles, John Boyer, Jason Cook, Frank Mitchell, Keith Jarosinski and Mike Colucci.

Holley opened the decade of the 1990’s on the diamond in strong fashion capturing back-to-back Genesee Region League Division II baseball championships in 1990 and 1991.

Holley clinched the 1990 division title by handing Oakfield-Alabama its first league loss by a 10-3 margin.

Brian Robinson picked up the win on the mound scattering 6 hits with 7 strikeouts to  go to 9-0.

At the plate, Shawn O’Mara had three hits and Robinson and David Gurzynski two each.

Brian Robinson delivers a pitch for the Hawks.

Holley took the lead for good as a two-run third inning home run by Frank Mitchell snapped a 3-3 tie.

The Hawks added two runs in the fourth on a single by O’Mara and an error and then put a lock on the win and the title with three tallies in the sixth on an RBI double by David Brooker and RBI singles by Robinson and John Boyer.

Holley capped off a 10-1 division title season with a 7-2 win over Notre Dame, the Hawks 15th overall victory of the season.

Breaking away from a 3-3 deadlock, the Hawks took the lead for good by scoring four times in the sixth inning on a two run error, an RBI bunt single by Eric Sheffer and a fielders choice play.

Robinson went to 10-0 on the mound by hurling a 3 hitter with 7 strikeouts.

Holley finished the season with a 17-3 overall record as the Hawks dropped a narrow 4-3 decision to Canisteo in the semifinals of the Section V Class B playoffs.

The Hawks though kept the G-R title momentum going in 1991 by repeating as Division II champions going 9-5-1 in the league and 12-6-1 overall.

Holley locked up the title by romping past Pavilion 14-3 in the regular season finale.

The Hawks pounded out a total of 14 hits including four by Chris Mitchell, three by Keith Jarosinski and two each by winning pitcher John Boyer and Frank DiStasio.

On the mound, Boyer scattered 5 hits and struck out 4.

Holley took the lead for good by scoring three quick runs in the first inning on an error, a sacrifice by Boyer and a single by Chris Mitchell.

The Hawks later locked up the win and the title by scoring four times in both the fourth and fifth innings.

Frank Mitchell had a two-run double and Boyer and DiStasio RBI singles in the fourth while singles by Jarosinski and Lee Dillenbeck ignited the fifth inning uprising.

Overall that two year stretch proved to be an outstanding one for Holley as the Hawks boys soccer team captured the state Class D championship in both 1990 and 1991.