Holley cagers earn sportsmanship award

Contributed Story Posted 26 February 2014 at 12:00 am

Contributed Photo

The Holley varsity basketball team is the Genesee Region League recipient of the Section V Thomas Emmanuel Sportsmanship Award for the 2013-2014 season. Holley Athletic Director Dan Courtney notes that the award is designed to go to the team which best exemplifies ‘the highest degree of sportsmanship, character and ethics among its coaches, players and spectators.'” The Hawks squad includes, in front, Zach Vaccarelli, Hunter DeFelice, John Bower, Joey DeFelice and Andy Spychalski. In back are Coach Matt Hennard, Ian Penders, Josh Porter, Victor Odeychuk, Chris Balys and Corey Winter. Coach Hennard will receive the award at the Section V Class C1 final on March 1 at the Blue Cross Arena in Rochester. Hennard has also been invited to a banquet on March 24 to receive recognition of this honor.