Hoag Library has 3 new trustees

By Tom Rivers, Editor Posted 7 May 2019 at 4:30 pm

ALBION – Hoag Library has three new trustees on its board of directors, and two current trustees will continue in their positions.

The library had its annual election and meeting on Monday. There were three candidates on the ballot for three positions. Maurice Taylor received the most votes and won a four-year term. Debbie DiBacco and Linda Weller each were elected to three-year terms. Taylor and DiBacco are both new to the board. About 80 people voted in the election.

At the annual meeting, the board also welcomed Dan Conrad as the new representative on the board for the Village of Albion. He replaces Elissa Nesbitt. Conrad serves at the will of Mayor Eileen Banker.

Nicole Bellnier also is staying on the board as a representative for the school district. She serves at the will of the president of the Board of Education, Margy Brown.

The library board has nine members overall with seven elected and two appointees.

Kevin Doherty was re-elected by the board to serve as president. He has one year remaining on the board before he is term-limited in 2020. Terry Wilbert was elected the board’s vice president and Anitrice (Riley) Bennett was elected treasurer.

The library is seeking $714,920 in the tax levy as part of the May 21 school budget vote, which is the same amount as 2018-19. That $714,920 is one of the propositions during the noon to 8 p.m. vote at the school.

Return to top